Sussex LanguagesEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Sussex Gotoarrow.png Languages

Official Language

Medieval Latin became the official language used in documents In England from the Norman Conquest in 1066.

Some informal documents were written in English from as early as the 15th century.

During the Protectorate, by a statute of 25 November 1650, English replaced Latin.

With the Restoration in 1660, all statutes of the interregnum were treated as void and Latin once again became the official language to be used in documents. In fact, however, many documents were written in English.

In 1731, an Act was passed mandating English as the official written language. This Act commenced in on Lady Day 1733.[1]

See also: England Language and Languages

Sussex Dialect

A dialect of English with regional variations was spoken in Sussex. When speaking the common tongue, there was (and, in some speakers, remains) a distinct Sussex accent. When reading documents where the speaker was not the recorder such as census records it may be useful to read aloud personal names and place names with an approximation of a Sussex accent to more accurately identify the name.
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Sussex dialect


References

  1. J.H. Baker, "The Three Languages of the Common Law", (1998) 43 McGill L.J. 5



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 18:56.
  • This page has been accessed 260 times.