Sutter County, CaliforniaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
California
Sutter County
Guide to Sutter County California genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Sutter County, California | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of California | |
![]() Location of California in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 18, 1850 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Yuba City |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Sutter County Courthouse 433 2nd Street Yuba City, CA 95992 Phone: 530.822.7120 Sutter County Website |
County Courthouse
County Clerk Recorder has birth and death records from 1873
marriage, land and military records from 1850
Civil Division of Courts has divorce, probate and court records[1]
Historical Facts
Parent County
18 February 1850: Sutter County was created as an original county. County seat: Yuba City [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1871: Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
- Butte, California
- Colusa, California
- Placer, California
- Sacramento, California
- Yolo, California
- Yuba, California
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Cemeteries
The Sutter County GenWeb has made available online some of the Sutter County Cemeteries inscriptions. Included are: Fairview, Hunter, Isolaated Burials, Live Oak, Meridian, Nicolaus, Noyesburg, Pennsington, Pleasant Grove Pugh, Stahlman, Sutter, Sutter Yuba Memorial Park, Veterans Memorial, Yuba City, and Yuba City Mausoleum.
Cemeteries of Sutter County at Find A Grave
Individual cemeteries:
- Live Oak Cemetery, Live Oak BillionGraves
- Sutter Cemetery, Sutter BillionGraves
- Sutter Cemetery in Sutter CA at Find A Grave
Census
For tips on accessing Sutter County, California census records online, see: California Census.
Church History and Records
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Sutter
- Yuba City
Court Records
Crime and Criminals
Directories
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Germans
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Maps
1895 map of Sutter County, California
Migration
Military History and Records
Naturalization and Citizenship
The Family History Library in Salt Lake City has microfilmed copies of Naturalization records of Sutter County found in the county courthouse in Yuba City. These copies are available for viewing at the Library in Salt Lake City, or can be ordered for viewing at any of the Library's Family History Centers.
Newspapers
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate Records
Repositories
Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers
Societies
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
For marriages from 1850-1877 see Western States Marriage Index.
Divorce
Death
Voting Registers
Websites
- Sutter County CAGenWeb
- Linkpendium
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives backup site
- FamilySearch Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sutter County, California. Page 87At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 26 April 2013, at 00:24.
- This page has been accessed 2,066 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


