Sutton, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Sutton, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sutton, Cheshire
St. James, Sutton Lane Ends.jpg
St. James, Sutton Lane Ends
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Macclesfield PLU
Registration District Macclesfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1840; For more records see Prestbury
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SUTTON, is a township, two chapelries, and a sub-district, in Prestbury parish, Macclesfield district, Cheshire. The township is partly in Macclesfield borough; it extends 4 miles SSE of M. town; and contains a suburb of that town, and the village of Langley. The chapelries are St. George's church is in Macclesfield, and was originally a dissenting chapel. St. James' church is near Lane-Ends, was built in 1840. There are two dissenting chapels.[1]

Sutton St James was established as a chapelry in Prestbury, Cheshire Ancient Parish in 1840

Sutton Lane Ends or Sutton is a semi-rural village and civil parish that is situated roughly a mile south of Macclesfield; it includes the hamlets of Gurnett and Jarman. Sutton is in the unitary authority of Cheshire East and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England. The rivers Bollin and Rosendale run through Sutton Lane Ends, as does the Macclesfield Canal.[2]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241241.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish records begin in 1840 Reference P 310 Held by Cheshire and Chester Archives and Local Studies Service indicate the registers are still in the parish A graveyard paln is available under the above reference.

Non Conformist Churches
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Macclesfield (1837-1998)
  • Cheshire East (1998-2007)
  • Cheshire (2007-09)
  • Cheshire East (2009+)

Poor Law Unions

Macclesfield Poor Law Union,Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Sutton near Macclesfield on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 29 March 2013
  2. Sutton parish website
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 November 2014, at 20:08.
  • This page has been accessed 1,038 times.