Sutton, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Sutton, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sutton, Sussex
St John the Baptist Sutton West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rotherbridge
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Sutton PLU
Registration District Chichester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1656
Bishop's Transcripts: 1590
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Midhurst
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SUTTON (St. John), a parish, in the hundred of Rotherbridge, rape of Arundel, W. division of Sussex, 5 miles (S.) from Petworth. The church is partly in the early English style.[1]

Church history Sutton St John the Baptist

The parish church of St John the Baptist has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building See also:

Sutton West Sussex Wikipedia and A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 271-274. here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Chichester registration district

Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Sutton, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
Sutton, Sussex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1587-1806 1587-1806
PRTS 1656-1780, 1793-1806, 1813-1901
1656-1901
1656-1780, 1790-1806, 1813-1901

West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1556-1995 Marr 1656-1999 Bur 1656-1992

Bishop's Transcripts 1590-1871

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Sutton

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474672.

See Sussex Census

Poor Law Unions

Sutton (East Preston) Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Sutton/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 271-274. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:25.
  • This page has been accessed 962 times.