Sutton Bonington St Michael, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Sutton Bonington St Michael, Nottinghamshire
St Michael Sutton Bonington Nottinghamshire.jpg
St Michael Sutton Bonington Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rushcliffe
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Loughborough PLU
Registration District Loughborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

SUTTON-BONNINGTON, a parish, in the union of Loughborough, S. division of the wapentake of Rushcliffe and of the county of Nottingham, 2 miles (S. E. by E.) from Kegworth. The living consists of the rectories of St. Anne and St. Michael. There is a place of worship for Wesleyan Methodists.[1]

Additional information:

The mediaeval parish of St Michael is the Ancient Parish church of Bonington in the Rush cliffe district of Notinghamshire.

Sutton Bonington village  has two medieval churches, a result of the merging of the two original villages (Sutton and Bonington); they are St Michael's Church (Bonington's parish church, located on Main Street) and St Anne's Church (Sutton's church, located down St Anne's Lane) see Sutton Bonington St Anne, Nottinghamshire.

See St Michael's Church Bonington Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sutton Bonington St Michael, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
SUTTON BONINGTON ST MICHAEL PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1559-1812


Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1558-1968 Marriages 1560-1979 Burials 1558-1900 Bishop's Transcripts 1600-1852
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Sutton Bonington St Michael

Sutton Bonington St Michael.  Alphabetical listing of Memorial Inscriptions dating from 1765, both inside and outside the Church, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 54, pages 38-40, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Sutton Bonnington, Marlpit Hill Cemetery. Available on line, at the Nottinghamshire Family History Society. Transcription also given dated from 1913, in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 54, page 41-43, Family History Library Ref 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Loughborough Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Sutton Bonnington in GENUKI

Sutton Bonnington, St. Michael in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 November 2014, at 19:08.
  • This page has been accessed 869 times.