Sutton at Hone, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Sutton at Hone, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Sutton at Hone, Kent
Sutton-at-Hone St John Kent.jpg
Sutton-at-Hone St John Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Axton, Dartford and Wilmington
County Kent
Poor Law Union Dartford PLU
Registration District Dartford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1607
Bishop's Transcripts: 1718
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Da
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Sutton-at Hone is a village within the Sutton-at-Hone and Hawley civil parish Sutton-at-Hone and Hawley Wikipedia and Sutton-at-Hone Wikipedia

Sutton at Hone St John the Baptist is an Ancient Parish which included Hawley and Swanley; the village of Hextable grew in the 1870's from a settlement and became a separate village and civil parish from Sutton-at-Hone. Hextable Wikipedia 

The church of St John the Baptist Church Road Sutton-at-Hone has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 2 (1797), pp. 343-367. Date accessed: 14 November 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

See Sutton-at-Hone North West Kent Family History Society Sutton-at-Hone St John the Baptist

Other places of worship include

Bethesda Baptist Church, Main Rd which dates from1834

Wesleyan Chapel Main Rd, Hextable which dates from1896.
Wesleyan Church Ship Lane which dates from1880

From this parish was formed Swanley North West Kent Family History Society Swanley St Paul Swanley St Mary see Kent Churches website

See also Hextable North West Kent Family History Society


Here is an important jurisdictional perspective by Samuel A. Lewis -


Resources

Civil Registration

See Dartford registration District

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sutton at Hone, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[1]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[5]
Sutton at Hone, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1607-1756, 1841-1868 (gaps)
1608-1812

FS BTs 1718-1868 1718-1868 1718-1868
FS PRs 1607-1840 1607-1837; 1824-1893 (banns) 1607-1859
IGI 1607-1840 1813-1835
MED 1607-1962 1607-1962 1607-1962

Land Tax

Images for Sutton at Hone are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census returns for Sutton-at-Hone 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Dartford Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

SUTTON-AT-HONE (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Dartford, hundred of Axton, Dartford, and Wilmington, lathe of Sutton-atHone, W. division of Kent, 2½ miles (S. by E.) from Dartford Here are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans. [6]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  2. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  5. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.
  6. Lewis,Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 271-274.Date accessed: 29 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 November 2014, at 02:00.
  • This page has been accessed 2,847 times.