Sutton cum Lound, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Sutton-cum-Lound St Bartholomew Nottinghamshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

SUTTON-CUM-LOUND, a parish, with two townships, in East Retford district, Notts; on the Great Northern railway, 3 miles NNW of East Retford. It has a post-office, of the name of Lound, under Retford, and a r. station, of the name of Sutton. There are Independent and Wesleyan chapels.[1]

Additional information:

Sutton cum Lound St Bartholomew is an Ancient Parish in the Bassetlaw District of Nottinghamshire.

The parish church of St Bartholomew Church Lane has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building

The former church of Lound St Anne is now a private dwelling; for an illustrated history the Southwell and Nottingham Church History project have researched the bulding Lound St Anne

See also Sutton cum Lound Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
Bassetlaw
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Chancery Lane
Retford
DN22 6DG
Phone:01777 708631
Fax:01777 860667
Email:bassetlawro.cc@nottscc.gov.uk

Church records

Sutton cum Lound St Bartholomew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
SUTTON CUM LOUND PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1790-1837


Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1538-1904 Marriages 1539-1938 Burials 1539-1915 Bishop's Transcripts 1627-1837
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Sutton cum Lound

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438901.
Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

East Retford Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Wilson, John M, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 05:07.
  • This page has been accessed 739 times.