Sutton in Ashfield, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Sutton in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxtow
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Mansfield PLU
Registration District Mansfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1577
Bishop's Transcripts: 1627
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nottingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Manor of Mansfield
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

SUTTON-IN-ASHFIELD (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Mansfield, N. division of the wapentake of Broxtow and of the county of Nottingham, 3½ miles (W. S. W.) from Mansfield with the hamletof Hucknall-under-Huthwaite. There are places of worship for General and Particular Baptists, Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans. Near the village is Mapple Wells.[1]

Additional information:

Sutton in Ashfield is an Ancient Parish in the Ashfield district ofNottinghamshire. Other places in the parish included: Eastfield, Huthwaite, Hucknall under Huthwaite, and Hucknall.The parish boundary froms part of the county boundary with neighbours Blackwell, Derbyshire and South Normanton, Derbyshire.

The Church of St Katharine Sutton in Ashfield dates from the 12th century and has been designated a grade I listed building by English Heritage British listed building

The Church of St Mary Magdalene Hucknall Market Place dates from the 12th century and has been designated a grade II* listed building by English Heritage British listed building

see also Sutton in Ashfield Wikipedia and Hucknall Huthwaite, Nottinghamshire

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was in the Mansfield registration district from 1837; for registration district history Mansfield registration district

Certificates may be obtained from:

The Register Office
County House
100 Chesterfield Road South
Mansfield
NG19 7AQ
Phone 01623 476564
Fax 01623 636284
email:mansfieldro.cc@nottscc.gov.uk

Church records

Sutton in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
SUTTON IN ASHFIELD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1813-1837


Sutton in Ashfield St Mary Magdalene (Hucknall Huthwaite, Nottinghamshire is also associated)

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1577-1952 Marriages 1577-1955 Burials 1577-1953 Bishop's Transcripts 1627-1823
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Sutton in Ashfield St Modwen

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1901-1984

 Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Sutton in Ashfield

Sutton-in-Ashfield - Particular Baptists. Chapel and Burial Ground was on Parliament Street and has now all disappeard.  The buriallist were found in a book pulished in 1940.  Gives an alphabetical listing of surname, given name, date of death and age.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine vol. 97, page 55, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Register of the Births and Baptisms of the Independent Congregation of Sutton-in-Ashfield 1773-1837. Gives the child's name, the parents names date of birth, and baptism date, dating from 1773-1837.  Article in the Public Record Office RG 4/1592, and a transcription in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 88, pages 31-51, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438907.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Military

War Memorial - Cemetery - Sutton in Ashfield.  A transcription of the Memorial Inscription of World War 1, giving the surname, and initials of the given name, to be found in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol 87, pages 52-53, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Mansfield Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Sutton in Ashfield in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 November 2014, at 19:11.
  • This page has been accessed 2,151 times.