Sutton (near Hull), YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Sutton on Hull, Yorkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-YGotoarrow.pngEast Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.pngSutton (near Hull)

Contents

Parish History

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1558.

SUTTON (St. James), a parish, in the union of Sculcoates, Middle division of the wapentake of Holderness, E. riding of York. This parish bounded on the west by the river Hull, on whose bank is the village of Stoneferry. It includes Witham, LimeStreet, the Groves, and Somergangs, forming the northeastern suburbs of the town of Hull, and now part of the borough.[1]

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from parish registers of Sutton near Hull exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
SUTTON NEAR HULL PARISH (1671) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None

None

1671-1678

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None


Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464222.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 271-274. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 October 2014, at 17:29.
  • This page has been accessed 1,289 times.