Sutton on Plym, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.pngDevon Parishes

Guide to Sutton on Plym, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sutton on Plym, Devon
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Plymouth Borough; Roborough
County Devon
Poor Law Union Plymouth PLU
Registration District Plymouth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1850
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Plymouth
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SUTTON-ON-PLYM St John the Evangelist is situated in Exeter Street, Plymouth. It is an ecclesiastical parish formed on June 3rd 1844 from the parish of St. Charles.

Plymouth, seaport, and naval station, Devon, on Plymouth Sound, between the estuaries of the Plym and Tamar, 53 miles SW. of Exeter by rail. Plymouth, in the larger sense, consists of the " Three Towns " of Devon-port, Stonehouse, and Plymouth, the two first forming the borough of Devonport (which see). Plymouth proper is built upon 2 eminences and the hollow between them. [1]

John Marius Wilson, description was:

SUTTON-ON-PLYM, a chapelry in Charles-the-Martyr parish, Devon; within Plymouth borough. It was constituted in 1844; and its Post town is Plymouth.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee ($) or free.

  • FamilySearch now has all of the British Censuses available.
  • findmypast ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles 1887 date accessed: 04 November 2013
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) date accessed and adapted: 04 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:19.
  • This page has been accessed 1,138 times.