Sutton on Trent, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Sutton on Trent, Nottinghamshire
Sutton on Trent All Saints Nottinghamshire.jpg
Sutton on Trent All Saints Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thurgarton
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Southwell PLU
Registration District Southwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1584
Bishop's Transcripts: 1626
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newark
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

SUTTON-UPON-TRENT (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Southwell, N. division of the wapentake of Thurgarton, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 5½ miles (S. E.) from Tuxford. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

Sutton-on-Trent All Saints is an Ancient Parish in the Newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire  .

Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have researched the history of this church Sutton on Trent All Saints

The parish church of Sutton-on-Trent All Saints has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building

See also Sutton-on-Trent Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sutton upon Trent All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
SUTTON ON TRENT PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1790-1837


Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1584-1961 Marriages 1584-1958 Burials 1584-1933 Bishop's Transcripts 1626-1868
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Sutton on Trent

Sutton on Trent, All Saints.  An alphabetical listing of the transcriptions of Memorial Inscriptions both inside and outside the Church dated from 1767, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 69, pages 36-39, Family History Library Ref 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438909.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Southwell Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Sutton on Trent in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 November 2014, at 19:10.
  • This page has been accessed 1,037 times.