Suwannee County, FloridaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Suwannee County Florida genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Florida  Gotoarrow.png  Suwannee County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Florida
Online Records


Suwannee County, Florida
Map
Map of Florida highlighting Suwannee County
Location in the state of Florida
Map of the U.S. highlighting Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 21, 1858
County Seat Live Oak
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Suwannee County FLGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Suwannee County Courthouse
224 Pine Ave;
Live Oak, FL 32060
Phone: 940.364.3450

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, land, probate,
military discharge and court records from 1859.
County Health Department has death records. [1]

History

Parent County

1858--Suwanne County was created 21 December 1858 from Columbia County.
County seat: Live Oak [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Florida counties see: Florida Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

African American 

Florida African American Griots Project USGenWeb 

Cemeteries

Individual Cemeteries:

Census

For tips on accessing Suwannee County, Florida census records online, see: Florida Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Florida Territorial Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Suwannee County, Florida. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.

A history of the county and those who lived there is:

Suwannee 2000 County History Committee. Echoes of the Past: A History of Suwannee County, 1858-2000. St. Petersburg, Florida: Southern Heritage Press, 2000

Some historical photographs of the county have been published in:

Suwannee Valley Memories: Days Gone By - A Pictorial History of Suwannee, Hamilton, and Lafayette Counties. St. Petersburg. Florida: Southern Heritage Press, n.d.

Maps

Flsuwannee.png

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Suwannee County, Florida newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

  • Florida Obituaries Obituary transcriptions from Florida counties USGenWeb Obituaries Project

Probate

Probate records are held by the Suwannee County, Florida Clerk of Court and are housed at the Suwannee County, Florida Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Florida Probate Records, 1784-1990. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.

Marriage
  • 1859-1885 - Suwannee County Marriage Books 1-2 Index 1859-1885. Batch M513251 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Societies and Libraries

P.O. Box 967
Live Oak. FL 32604

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Suwannee County, Florida Page 137 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/3f/Igifloridamz.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 July 2014, at 21:47.
  • This page has been accessed 5,910 times.