Swain County, North CarolinaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  North Carolina  Gotoarrow.png  Swain County

Guide to Swain County North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/North Carolina_Online_Genealogy_Records North Carolina
Online Records


Swain County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Swain County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1871
County Seat Bryson City
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Swain Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Swain-county-courthouse.jpg
Swain County Courthouse
1 Mitchell St P O box 417
Bryson, NC 28713
Phone: 828-488-9273


Register of Deeds has birth and death records from 1913
marriage records from 1907 and land records
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1900 and probate records[1]

History

European settlement began soon after the Cherokee Indian cession of 1798. These Europeans settled in the areas along the Oconaluftee and Tuckaseegee Rivers. The Cherokees surrendered the remainder of the land in a treaty on February 27, 1819. In 1871 the North Carolina General Assembly passed an act making Swain a North Carolina county, taking land from Jackson and Macon county. It was named for David L. Swain a former governor of North Carolina and president of the University of North Carolina.

The first court was held at Cold Spring Meeting House. Commissioners were to select a site for the courthouse and lay out a town named Charleston, to become the county seat. Charleston was renamed Bryson City in 1889 in honor of Colonel Thad Dillard Bryson.

Swain County began probating wills in 1876.


Parent County

1871--Swain County was created from Jackson and Macon Counties.
County seat: Bryson City [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1879--Courthouse fire destroyed many records.

1908-- Swain County Courthouse in Bryson City burned by rioters, January 7, 1908.  No records were saved. [3]

For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Ncswain.png

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Swain County, North Carolina census records online, see: North Carolina Census.

Church

Court

Land

Local Histories

Maps

1895 Map of Swain County, North Carolina

Military

Civil War

Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.

Newspapers

Probate

Taxation

Vital Records

Births
  • 1868-1953 - Swain County Birth Index 1868-1953. Batch C752334 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriages
  • 1871-1922 - Swain County Marriage Index 1871-1922. Batch M752332 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Societies and Libraries 

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Swain County, North Carolina. Page 513 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. GenDisasters.com Bryson City, NC Courthouse Burned by Rioters, Jan 1908 http://www3.gendisasters.com/north-carolina/17868/bryson-city-nc-courthouse-burned-rioters-jan-1908
  4. 4.0 4.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f5/Iginorthcarolinap.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 20:23.
  • This page has been accessed 5,087 times.