Swanmore, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png HampshireGotoarrow.png Hampshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Swanmore

Guide to Swanmore, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Swanmore, Hampshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bishop's Waltham
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Droxford PLU
Registration District Droxford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Droxford
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of Droxford with Swanmore, Shidfield, Hill, and Midlington; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SWANMORE, a tything, in the parish of Droxford, hundred of Bishop's-Waltham, Droxford and N. divisions of the county of Southampton.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Swanmore, Hampshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free[2]
SWANMORE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1845-1876
1846-1875


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288793.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 283-286. Date accessed: 05 June 2013.
  2. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 5 October 2013.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:14.
  • This page has been accessed 962 times.