Swanscombe, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Swanscombe, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Swanscombe, Kent
Swanscombe St Peter & St Paul Kent.jpg
Swanscombe St Peter & St Paul Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Axton, Dartford and Wilmington
County Kent
Poor Law Union Dartford PLU
Registration District Dartford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1718
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Swanscombe is a small town part of the civil parish of Swanscombe and Greenhithe in the Dartford district of Kent Swanscombe Wikipedia

Swanscombe St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish on the south bank of the River Thames.

The Parish Church of St Peter and St Paul has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 2 (1797), pp. 399-421. Date accessed: 14 Noverber 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

See Swanscombe North West Kent Family History Society and Swanscombe St Peter and St Paul

From this parish were formed:

Greenhithe St Mary London Road Greenhithe St Mary  Greenhithe St Mary the Virgin,Kent

Galley Hill All Saints,Kent

Resources

Civil Registration

See Dartford registration District

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Swanscombe, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[1]
FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[6]
Swanscombe, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1718-1830, 1871
1718-1812 (gaps)

FREG 1797-1819, 1854-1887


FS BTs 1718-1871 1718-1871 1718-1871
FS PRs 1797-1812, 1869-1883 1813-1901 1813-1844
IGI 1813-1830
MED 1559-1967 1559-1967 1559-1967

Land Tax

Images for Swanscombe are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306877.

 

Poor Law Unions

Dartford Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

SWANSCOMBE (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Dartford, hundred of Axton, Dartford, and Wilmington, lathe of Sutton-atHone, W. division of Kent, 4 miles (E.) from Dartford. [7]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  2. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 November 2013.
  6. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.
  7. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 283-286. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 20:10.
  • This page has been accessed 2,218 times.