Swanton Abbot, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes
Swanton Abbot, Norfolk
Swanton Abbot St Michael.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ingworth
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SWANTON-ABBOTT (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of South Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 1 mile (N.) from Scottow. [1]

Swanton Abbot St Michael is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

A fourteenth century tower and a fifteenth century church with subsequent restorations.

The modern parish is within the Worsted deanery of the diocese.

The village and civil parish lies 4 miles south of North Walsham, 15 miles south of the north Norfolk seaside town of Cromer and 13.5 miles north by road from the centre of the city of Norwich, Norfolk's administrative centre. For local government purposes the civil parish is within the North Norfolk district.

Church Records

Swanton Abbot, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[7]
Swanton Abbot, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1540-1837

FREG 1538-1812
1540-1838
1539-1812
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1539-1812 1544-1641, 1676-1703
TIN 1813-1880


This parish's registers do not appear at FamilySearch Historical Records as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts (the early Archdeacons transcripts are in Latin):

Content Film
Baptisms and burials 1600-1609, 1623-1634, 1665-1812 Marriages 1600-1608, 1623-1634, 1665-1811 FHL BRITISH Film
1526781 Item 2

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438854.

Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

  • Aylsham


Probate Jurisdictions

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes O through S


Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 283-286. Date accessed: 11 June 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:20.
  • This page has been accessed 757 times.