Sweet Grass County, MontanaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Montana
Sweet Grass County
Guide to Sweet Grass County Montana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Sweet Grass County, Montana | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Montana in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | March 5, 1895 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Big Timber |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Sweet Grass County Courthouse 200 W 1st Avenue Big Timber, MT 59011-0460 Phone: 406.932.5152 Sweet Grass County Website |
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| * For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent County: created 5 March 1895 from Meagher | Park | Yellowstone
- County seat: Big Timber [1]
- Neighboring Counties: Golden Valley | Meagher | Park | Stillwater | Wheatland
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
Census
Church Records
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Big Timber
Court Records
Directories
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Maps
Migration
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Obituaries
Probate
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
County Clerk and Recorder has birth records from 1907, death and burial records from 1900 and land records from 1895; Clerk District Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1895[2]
Family History Centers
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
- Western States Marriage Index includes marriages 1895-1901
Death
Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
Places
| Big Timber | |
| Greycliff | |
| Melville |
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 418.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 28 May 2013, at 15:44.
- This page has been accessed 1,493 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
