Sweetwater County, WyomingEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Sweetwater County Wyoming genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wyoming Gotoarrow.png Sweetwater County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wyoming
Online Records


Sweetwater County, Wyoming
Map
Map of Wyoming highlighting Sweetwater County
Location in the state of Wyoming
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wyoming
Location of Wyoming in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 27, 1867
County Seat Green River
Courthouse
Address Sweetwater County Courthouse
80 W Flaming Gorge Way
PO Box 730
Green River, WY 82935
Phone: 307.872.6400
Sweetwater County Website


Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
Court
----*
1870*
----*
1867
1858
1867
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries
  • Parent County: Formed from the western half of Laramie county 27 Dec 1867 (Laramie county originally encompassed the entire state). Originally named Carter county and original county seat South Pass City. The county was renamed Sweetwater by the first Wyoming Legislative Assembly. The county seat was moved to Green River in 1873.
  • County Seat: Green River
  • Neighboring Counties: Carbon | Daggett County, Utah | Fremont | Lincoln | Moffat County, Colorado | Sublette | Summit County, Utah | Uinta

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wyoming County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wyoming County Boundary Maps" (1848-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

Bryan "Railroad Section" 978.785 V3m, 978.785 V3ma
Farson, Eden Valley Cemetery 978.785 V3ma
Green River 978.785/G1 V3s
Green River, Riverview Cemetery. City cemetery listing at Parks & Recreation. Also indexed at findagrave.com.
978.785 V3m, 978.785 V3ma
Rock Springs, City Cemetery: Mountain View Section, St. Joseph's Section, Paul J. Wataha Memorial Park Section. All standing and readable stones were photographed as of May 2011, indexed at findagrave.com.
978.785/R1 V3r (some obituary records)
Rock Springs, Rest Haven Memorial Garden 978.785 V3ma
Superior 978.785/S1 V3b, 978.785 V3ma

Census

For tips on accessing Sweetwater County, Wyoming census records online, see: Wyoming Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wyoming denominations, view the Wyoming Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Green River, McKinnon, Reliance, Rock Springs,Rock Springs 1st, Rock Springs 2nd, Superior, Winton

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Sweetwater County, Wyoming. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Wyoming Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wyoming Land and Property for additional information about early Wyoming land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Maps

Wysweetwater.jpg

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Sweetwater County, Wyoming for European and African American settlers included:

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Probate

In most counties in Wyoming, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Wyoming- Albany - Probate records.

The bulk of the probate case files from the 1870's to the 1940's have been transferred to the Wyoming State Archives in Cheyenne. Check their website for additional details.

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wyoming Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage records from 1864 and land records from 1876.
Clerk District Court has divorce, probate and court records.[5]

Family History Centers

Introduction to LDS Family History Centers

Libraries
Museums
Societies

Taxation

Wyoming tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

See also How to order Wyoming Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Wyomong Birth Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Applications to mail.


Birth
Marriage
Death

Websites

Places

Arrowhead Springs Creston Junction Kanda Red Desert Superior
Bairoil Dines (hist.) Little America Reliance Sweeney Ranch
Bitter Creek Eden McKinnon Riner Table Rock
Blairtown Farson Monell Robinson Thayer Junction
Bryan Fort La Clede (hist.) North Rock Springs Rock Springs Tipton
Burntfork Granger Point of Rocks Salt Wells Wamsutter
Clearview Acres Green River Purple Sage South Superior Washam
Creston James Town Quealy Squaw Hollow (hist.) Winton

References

  1. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map IV" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap4.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
  2. "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
  3. "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Cherokee Trail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cherokee_Trail (accessed 19 July 2011).
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 767. Sweetwater County, Wyoming

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:24.
  • This page has been accessed 6,189 times.