Swettenham, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Swettenham

Guide to Swettenham, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Peter's Church, Swettenham.jpg

Contents

Parish History

SWETTENHAM, is a township and a parish in Congleton district, Cheshire. The township lies on the river Dane, 2 miles E of Holmes-Chapel railway station, and 5 miles NW by W of Congleton. The parish contains also Kermincham township, and the post town is, Congleton. There are a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Swettenham St Peter is an Ancient Parish in Cheshire and includes Kermincham and Swettenham. The parish was extended in 1880 to include Davenport.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241251.

Church records

Swettenham St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Swettenham St Peter Parish (1547) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1570-1877
  NONE
1570-1835
  NONE
1570-1881
  NONE
FS BT'S 1596-1861   NONE
1604-1835
  NONE
1596-1861
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers of Swettenham, Cheshire, 1570-1890 Cheshire Record Office reference: P139/1/1-2, P139/2/1-2, P139/3/1-2, P139/4.

Two  index collections for Cheshire parish registers and Bishop's Transcripts is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records(formerly Record Search) See also England Cheshire Church of England Parish Registers and Bishops’ Transcripts

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Churchwarden accounts, 1681-1791. Baptisms, 1570-1890. Marriages, 1570-1835. Burials, 1570-1881. BRITISH 1941869 Items 7 - 13

Bishop's transcripts for Swettenham, 1596-1861 Records are not in strict chronological order. Some years are missing.

Cheshire Record Office reference EDB 192 

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1596, 1604-1605, 1615-1618, 1621, 1629-1630, 1632-1633, 1640, 1663-1665, 1669, 1671-1677, 1679-1722, 1726-1836. Baptisms, burials, 1837-1861. BRITISH 1751852 Item 2

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Congleton (1837–1937)
  • Crewe (1937–74)
  • Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  • South Cheshire (1988–98)
  • Cheshire East (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 10 April 2013

Bibliography

Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 314–316

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,029 times.