Swine, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Swine, Yorkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-YGotoarrow.png East Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Swine

Guide to Swine, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Swine, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Holderness
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Skirlaugh
Registration District Skirlaugh
Records begin
Parish registers: 1706; Separate registers exist for Skirlaugh beginning 1711
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600; Separate records exist for Skirlaugh beginning 1600 and for Marton beginnign 1601 and for Wyton beginning 1603
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery North Holderness
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office


Parish History

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1706.

SWINE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Skirlaugh, partly in the N., but chiefly in the Middle, division of the wapentake of Holderness, E. riding of York; containing the chapelries of Bilton and South Skirlaugh, and the townships of Benningholme with Grange, Coniston, Ellerby, Ganstead, Marton, North Skirlaugh, Thirtleby, Wyton, and part of Arnold, 6½ miles (N. N. E.) from Hull. In the village is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Swine exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
SWINE PARISH (1725) Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1725-1867






AC None



For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Swine to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Swine page.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464222.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites


  1. Lewis,Samuel A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 286-289. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 May 2015, at 22:18.
  • This page has been accessed 2,649 times.