Bern Canton, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Switzerland - Bern)

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngBern

Guide to Canton Bern, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

News
  • (Your Bullets here)

more...

Events
  • (Your Bullets here)


Topics

(Add introductory text and/or an image here)

Contents

Featured Content

(Add text and/or an image here)

Jurisdictions

Add text and/or an image here)

Did you know?

Bern is a German-speaking canton.  It joined the Swiss Confederation in 1353 and has 410 communities. It has always been the most populated canton in Switzerland.

Research Tools

Place name list

See the page Switzerland Bern Gazetteers for a list of municipalities (civil communities) and corresponding parishes in Canton Bern.

Various Resources

See "Swiss Genealogy on the Internet" for links to various resources and indexes. To access information in English about Canton Bern, click on "Information on individual Cantons", then "Bern" under the British flag. The page includes general information about the canton, archive addresses, and  list of genealogical resources.  

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Switzerland, Canton Bern Civil Registration (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Things you can do

(In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:




 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 April 2015, at 19:03.
  • This page has been accessed 5,754 times.