Switzerland County, IndianaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Indiana
Switzerland County
Guide to Switzerland County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Switzerland County, Indiana | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location of Indiana in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | September 7, 1814 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Vevay | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Switzerland County Courthouse 212 W Main St; Vevay, IN 47043 Phone: 812.427.3175 County Website | ||||||
| |||||||
Historical Facts
Boundary Changes
Parent County
1814--Switzerland County was created 7 September 1814 from Dearborn and Jefferson Counties.
County seat: Vevay [1]
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Record Loss
Switzerland County, Indiana Resources
Bible Records
Business Records
Cemeteries
- Index and map of Bovard Cemetery, Cotton Township (free, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Index and map of Littlefield Cemetery, Cotton Township (free, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Census Records
For tips on accessing Switzerland County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.
- Index to Agricultural Schedule for Switzerland County (1850-1880) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Index to Mortality Schedule for Switzerland County (1850-1880) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Switzerland County (1880) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Index to Manufacturing Schedules for Switzerland County (1850-1880) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
- Directory of Selected Residents of Switzerland County (1876) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Church Records
Court Records
Directories
- Directory of Businesses in Switzerland County (1858, 1868) ($, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic and Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogies
History
Local Histories
- History of Switzerland County, Indiana from Their Earliest Settlement: Containing a History of the Cities, Townships, Towns, Villages, Schools, and Churches Reminiscences, Extracts, Etc. Local Statistics Portraits of Early Settlers and Prominent Men ; (Biographies. Mt. Vernon, Ind: Windmill Publications, 1993.), 977.2125 H2h FHL US/CAN BookFHL Collection, other library
- Weakley, Harraman & Co. History of Dearborn, Ohio and Switzerland Counties, Indiana: From Their Earliest Settlement, Containing a History of the Counties, Their Cities, Townships, Towns, Villages, Schools, and Churches ... Biographies ... History of the North-West Territory, the State of Indiana, and the Indians. (Chicago: Weakley, Harraman Co, 2008.)other libraryINTERNET ARCHIVE(Only the Switzerland County portion is included below.)
- History of Switzerland County, Indiana, 1885. (Vevay, Ind: Switzerland County Historical Society, 1999.)977.2125 H2hi FHL US/CAN BookFHL Collection other library MylndianaHome.net
Land and Property
Maps
Migration
Military Records
War of 1812
- Civil War Soldiers from Switzerland County, Indiana (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Civil War
Civil War service men from Switzerland County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Switzerland County.
- 3rd Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Companies A, C, and K
- 6th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company H
- 10th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company D
- 11th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company C
- 15th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company E
- 18th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company D
- 22nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company F
- 38th Regiment, Indiana Infantry , Company C
- 52nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company D
- 54th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies C, and E
- 83rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company C
- 93rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies C and D
- 139th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company K
- 140th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies B, E, and I
- 146th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies B, and E
- 156th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company B
- 28th US Colored Troops, Addition Recruits for Colored Troops
Civil War Book
- "Military History" Chapter 10 in History of Switzerland County, Indiana from Their Earliest Settlement: Containing a History of the Cities, Townships, Towns, Villages, Schools, and Churches Reminiscences, Extracts, Etc. Local Statistics Portraits of Early Settlers and Prominent Men ; (Biographies. Mt. Vernon, Ind: Windmill Publications, 1993.), (page 1099-1199gives Regiment, Company, Name) 977.2125 H2h FHL US/CAN BookFHL Collection, other library
World War I
World War II
Newspapers
- Index to Newspapers in Vevay, Switzerland County, Indiana (1840, 1853-1901) (members only database, Indiana Genealogical Society)
Naturalization and Citizenship
Obituaries
Occupations
Periodicals
Probate Records
Public Records
Repositories
Archives
County Courthouse
Switzerland County Courthouse
212 W Main St;
Vevay, IN 47043
Phone: 812.427.3175
County Health Department has birth, death and burial records.
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, court and probate records from 1814.
County Recorder has land records. [2]
Family History Centers
Libraries
Societies
School Records
Taxation
Vital Records
- Indiana State Digital Archives for Death, E-Publication, Institution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
Birth Records
Marriage Records
- Indiana Marriages, 1802-1892 - Ancestry.con $
- Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992-FamilySearch
- Indiana Marriage, 1811-1959-FamilySearch
Death Records
- Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920-FamilySearch
Voting Registration
Switzerland County, Indiana Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Switzerland County, Indiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
Switzerland County, Indiana References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Switzerland County, Indiana 216 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
| This Indiana-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 16 April 2013, at 22:33.
- This page has been accessed 2,828 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
