Syderstone, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  NorfolkGotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Syderstone, Norfolk
Syderstone St Mary.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Gallow
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Docking PLU
Registration District Docking
Records begin
Parish registers: 1585
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Burnham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SYDERSTONE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Docking, hundred of Gallow, W. division of Norfolk, 7 miles (W. N. W.) from Fakenham. Here are places of worship for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists.[1]
Syderstone St Mary is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich. The church is one of 124 surviving round tower churches in Norfolk.

Syderstone is a civil parish in the English county of Norfolk near the town of Fakenham. For the purposes of local government, it falls within the district of King's Lynn and West Norfolk.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Syderstone, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
Syderstone, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1586-1837

FREG 1588-1874
1588-1901
1588-1889
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1585-1684, 1689-1874 Undefined 1585-1684, 1689-1901 Undefined 1585-1684, 1689-1889
IGI 1585-1684
JOIN
1586-1837

PALL
1790-1837

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 238

Microfilm copy of original record at the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, England.

Item 9 Baptisms, burials, marriages 1585-1684 Item 10 Baptisms 1689-1741 Marriages and burials 1690-1740 Item 11 Baptisms and burials 1732-1783 Marriages 1737-1765 Item 12 Baptisms and burials 1783-1812 Marriages 1784-1797 Item 13 Baptisms 1813-1874 Item 14 Marriages, banns 1754-1783, 1798-1812 Item 15 Marriages 1813-1837 Item 16 Marriages 1838-1901 Item 17 Burials 1813-1889 FHL BRITISH Film 1596389 Items 9-17
Item 18 Banns 1872-1900 Item 19 Transcripts of baptisms, marriages, burials 1585-1684 Item 20 Transcripts of baptisms 1689-1741 Transcripts of marriages and burials 1690-1740 Item 21 Transcripts of baptisms and burials 1732-1783 Transcripts of marriages 1737-1765 Item 22 Transcripts of baptisms and burials 1783-1812 Marriages and banns 1754-1812 FHL BRITISH Film 1596389 Items 18-22

Archdeacons transcripts, 1725-1812  Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Baptisms and burials 1725-1812 Marriages 1725-1811 FHL BRITISH Film 1526790 Item 14

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438859.



Poor Law Unions

Docking Poor Law Union, Norfolk

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 292-294. Date accessed: 15 July 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  8. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 April 2014, at 20:04.
  • This page has been accessed 1,142 times.