Syerston, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

add=== Parish History ===

Syerston, Nottinghamshire
Syerston All Saints Nottinghamshire.jpg
Syerston All Saints Nottinghamshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Newark
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Southwell PLU
Registration District Southwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1567; For more records see East Stoke
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newark
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

SYERSTON, a parish in Southwell district, Notts: 3¼ miles ESE of Thurgarton r. station. Post town, Newark. The living is a p. curacy, annexed to East Stoke. The church is ancient.[1]

Additional information:

Syerston All Saints was originally formed as a chapelry of East Stoke, Nottinghamshire but has a 12th century parish church and is in the Newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire.

The Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have researched the history of the church Syerston All Saints

The Parish Church of Syerston All Saints has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

See also Wikipedia and RAF Syerston which was in Flintham, Nottinghamshire RAF Syerston

Contents

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Syerston All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
SYERSTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1567-1812


Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1567-1904 Marriages 1568-1900 Burials 1567-1903 Bishop's Transcripts 1602-1843
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Syerston

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438907.

See Nottinghamshire Census

1821 Census Syerston.  Transcription gives forename, surname head of the household, with children marked within an age group, Original held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 394, transcription in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 95 page 52. FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Southwell Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Syerston in GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 November 2014, at 19:13.
  • This page has been accessed 898 times.