Taliaferro County, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Georgia
Taliaferro County
Guide to Taliaferro County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Taliaferro County, Georgia | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of [[Georgia]] | |
![]() Location of Georgia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 24, 1825 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Crawfordville |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Taliaferro County Courthouse 113 Monument Street SE PO Box 114 Crawfordville, GA 30631 Phone: 706.456.2123 Taliaferro County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Taliaferro County Courthouse
113 Monument Street SE
PO Box 114
Crawfordville, GA 30631
Phone: 706.456.2123
Probate Court has birth records from 1927, death records from 1920,
marriage and probate records from 1826, land grants from 1750 and
church records from 1802; Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court
records from 1826[1]
History
Local histories are available for Taliaferro County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Parent County
1825--Taliaferro County was created 24 December 1825 fromGreene, Hancock, Oglethorpe,Warren and Wilkes Counties.
County seat: Crawfordville [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Court
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
Maps
Military
1827 Militiamen of Taliaferro County Georgia Pioneers
Newspapers
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Taliaferro County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog. Do a Place search for Taliaferro County, Georgia to find these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
- Wills 1826-1866 (abstracts) Georgia Pioneers
- Wills 1866-1922 (abstracts) Georgia Pioneers
- Wills 1922-1949 (abstracts) Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Inventories, Sales, Divisions of Estates 1826-1834Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Wills 1826-1866 Georgia Pioneers
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Birth
Marriage
- 1826-1931 - Taliaferro County Marriage Books A thru C Index 1826-1931. Batch M713762 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1875-1905 - Taliaferro County Marriage Books B and C Index 1875-1905. Batch M713763 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Taliaferro County, GAGenWeb - free genealogical resources; part of the USGenWeb Project
- Family History Library Catalog
- Taliaferro County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers Georgia Pioneers
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Taliaferro County, Georgia. Page 160 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 24 May 2013, at 23:13.
- This page has been accessed 1,422 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

