Talk:Fayette County, TennesseeEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
West Tennessee county. Established 1824.
Contents |
Getting started in this county in 4 EASY STEPS:
1. What information do you wish to locate about your ancestor? To choose the sources you need to search first, please click on RECORD SELECTION TABLE: United States OR RECORD SELECTION TABLE: United States 2, which will help you decide.
2. From the above Record Selection Table, which sources do you wish to check in this county? To check the availability of your sources of interest as well as to check the websites that have them online, please click on this county's SOURCES LINKS TABLE.
3. Do you know the location that you wish to search in this county? If so, please check for some possible sources and some online information about your location of interest, by clicking on POPULATED AREAS TABLE for this county.
4. For further information regarding your sources of interest, see "5 Resources" ABOVE in the "CONTENTS" tableand click on the source of interest. Remember that you should always try to get an original copy of that source to verify information.
Please be aware that this is a growing Pilot program, with new information being added on a regular basis.
NOTE: If you would like to participate in contributing information into this WIKI program, please go to the "Make a Contribution" section of this screen (on the right column), and follow the guidelines.
WELCOME ABOARD! More sharers of information = more information available for everyone!
County Courthouse
Fayette County Courthouse
P.O. Box 218
1 Court Square
Somerville, Tennessee 38068-0218
Phone: (901) 465-5219
Fayette County Clerk
Birth and Death 1925-1929
Marriage from 1838 except 1918 - 1925 lost in fire
P.O. Box 218
1 Court Square, Room 101
Somerville, TN 38068
Phone 901-465-5213
Fayette County Register of Deeds
Land records
P.O. Box 99
1 Court Square
Somerville, TN 38068
Phone: 901-465-5251
Fayette County Chancery Court-Clerk and Master
Court records
P.O. Box 220
Somerville, TN 38068
Phone: 901-465-5217
Hours:
Monday - Friday 9 am - 5 pm
History
The county is named after Revolutionary War hero, the Marquis de Lafayette (1757-1834).[1]
Parent County
1824--Fayette County was created 29 September 1824 from Hardeman and Shelby Counties.
County seat: Somerville[2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1925 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
- Lack of marriage records: 1824 to 1837
- Lost probate records: 1824 to 1836
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
- Arlene Eakle, When the Records are Gone in Tennessee Genealogy Blog
- Burned Counties Research in FamilySearch Wiki
- Michael John Neill, Burned Counties in Family History Circle
Places / Localities
Populated Places
For a list of locations in this county and information about each location online, through some helpful websites, please click on Populated Places Table for Fayette County
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Research Guides
- Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: Fayette County, courtesy: Tennessee State Library and Archives. (Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.)
- Fayette County, Tennessee: A Partial Bibliography (updated 12/30/2002), available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb.
African American
The Runaway Slave Blog is a free online resource where runaway slaves listed in pre-1865 West Tennessee newspapers are identified. Some of the runaway ads appeared in Fayette County newspapers.
Cemeteries
- Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried. Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone. May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.
- Find A Grave also gives a list of cemeteries in Fayette County linking to the information about the people buried there,
- Fayette County, TN Cemetery Records, part of the TNGenWeb Cemetery Database, lists many cemeteries in the county, often with indexes and transcripts of the burials.
- Fayette County, Tennessee, USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project lists many cemeteries in the county and has transcripts of the tombstones arranged by cemetery.
- Fayette County cemetery information with transcriptions on TNGenweb Project
- The Family History Library Catalog lists some records about Fayette county. Some of the books or others may be on Google Books or available at public libraries.
- Transcriptions of some cemeteries in Fayette County are at Interment.net
Census
1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population censuses of Fayette County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.
See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
See Fayette County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. [The USGenWeb Census Project®]
1850
- Carpenter, Mrs. V.K. Seventh census of the United States, 1850 : Fayette County, Tennessee, free population schedules Huntsville, Arkansas : Century Enterprises, 1969 FHL US/CAN book 976.821 X2
1860
- Felldin, Jeanne Robey and Tucker, Charlotte Magee 1860 United States census, Fayette County, Tennessee, surname index Tomball, Texas : Genealogical Publications, c1976 FHL US/CAN book 976.8 A1
1880
- Sistler, Samuel D. 1880 census, Fayette County, Tennessee Nashville, Tennessee : Byron Sistler and Associates, 2003 FHL US/CAN book 976.821 X22
Church
Court
Family Histories
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
General
- Matthews, Paul A. Early Families of the Memphis Area: Profiles of 135 Families of Fayette, Shelby and Tipton Counties in Tennessee, Crittenden County, Arkansas and DeSoto and Marshall Counties in Mississippi: With Historical Time Lines and Photographs of Those Counties. Memphis, Tennessee: Descendants of Early Settlers of Shelby and Adjoining Counties, 2008. FHL US/CAN Book 976 D2m.
Bibliography
- [Alexander] Irwin, Frank Lewis. The Irwins and Their Kinfolk the Alexanders and Crawfords Who were Early Settlers (1837) in Fayette County, Tennessee. MSS., Fayette County Library.[3]
- [Allen] Moore, Elizabeth Allen. The Allens of Fayette County, Tennessee and Related Families. 1980.
- [Crawford] Irwin, Frank Lewis. The Irwins and Their Kinfolk the Alexanders and Crawfords Who were Early Settlers (1837) in Fayette County, Tennessee. MSS., Fayette County Library.[4]
- [Irwin] Irwin, Frank Lewis. The Irwins and Their Kinfolk the Alexanders and Crawfords Who were Early Settlers (1837) in Fayette County, Tennessee. MSS., Fayette County Library.[5]
- [Ivy] Hamilton, Hance H. The Genealogy of the Ivy/Ivey Family of Hickory With, Tennessee. 1998.
- [Jones] Shaw, Dan. Mange and Jennie Jordan Jones: The Saga of a Fayette County Couple. 1995.
- [McCraw] McCraw, Carol J., Joy Rushing, and Joyce AuBuchon. It is McCraw Not McGraw. Bountiful, Utah: Family History Publishers, Inc., 1998.
- [Reeve] See Rives.
- [Rives, Rivers] Morris, Whitmore. The Descendants of William Christopher Rives and Mary Rivers. San Antonio, TX: Unknown, 1934. Available at FHL US/CAN Film 873458; digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($).
- [Rogers] Rogers, Robert W. Rogers Genealogy with Ancestry of Rogers Families at Belmont; District 4, Fayette County, Mason, Tennessee. 1982. Available at Fayette County Library. [6]
- [Thurman] Thurman, John P. John P. and Sallie Ecklin Thurman Papers1884-1896. Southern Historical Collection, Manuscripts Department, Wilson Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Free digital copy.
- [Wharton] Wharton, Richard. Richard Wharton papers, 1863 - 1906. Book contributor: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. A diary, letters and other writings including his service in the Confederate Army , letters relating to family matters, a genealogy of the Wharton family, poems and speeches. Free digital copy, courtesy: Internet Archive.
Land
Fayette County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1825 and is located at Courthouse, P. O. Box 99, Somerville, Tennessee 8068-0218; Telephone: (901) 465-5251. Land and property records include transfer of real estate or personal property, mortgages, leases, surveys, and entries.
The Family History has microfilm copies od deed books 1825- 1890 and land entries 1821-1881.
Law and Legislation
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. [In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service.] The Tennessee State Library and Archives has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at The Tennessee State Library and Archives; another version is available at World Vital Records.
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Civil War
- Lynn, H.M. H.M. Lynn Papers, 1858-1882. Southern Historical Collection, Manuscripts Dept., Wilson Library, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Free digital copy. 9th Tennessee Regiment, Company C.
- Thurman, John P. John P. and Sallie Ecklin Thurman Papers1884-1896. Southern Historical Collection, Manuscripts Department, Wilson Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Tennessee 3rd and 4th Calvary. Free digital copy.
Newspapers
Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at the Tennessee State Library and Archives. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Fayette County click on the following towns:
Occupations
- Miller, Alan N. West Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1821 to 1889. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2006. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2man. Purchase at Genealogical.com. [Includes Fayette County.]
Periodicals
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers who are new to their area would not likely discover. This type of material may be found in local, regional, or statewide genealogical society journals. The following periodicals cover this county:
Ansearchin' News
Several genealogical articles with abstracts of records of Fayette County, Tennessee have been published in Ansearchin' News, the quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. To view a list of these articles, visit their county index. To read digitized versions of the first 36 years of articles (Vols. 1-36), browse their archive or conduct a surname search. The Family History Library has a complete collection of the Ansearchin' News quarterly FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a.
Family Findings
Several genealogical articles with abstracts of Fayette County, Tennessee records have been published in Family Findings, the quarterly of the Mid-West Tennessee Genealogical Society (42+ vols.). The Family History Library has most issues of this quarterly FHL US/CAN 976.8 B2f.
Tables of contents for some volumes are available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb Project:
- Volumes 1-10 (1969-1978)
- Volumes 11-20 (1979-1988)
- Volumes 21-24 (1989-1992)
- Volumes 32-35 (2000-2003)
Many articles from this publication have been reproduced on the TNGenWeb Project website, try this specialized Google search.
West Tennessee Historical Society Papers
Family History Library has Volumes 1 - 16 and 30 FHL US/CAN Book 976.81 B5w. The West Tennessee Historical Society Papers are indexed in PERiodical Source Index (PERSI).
To view Table of Contents and complete articles from 1947 - 2005 see Shelby County Register of Deeds
Prisons
Learn if your Fayette County ancestors went to prison!
- Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1831-1850, free index available online, courtesy: Tennessee State Library and Archives.
- Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1851-1870, free index available online, courtesy: Tennessee State Library and Archives.
Probate
The following Fayette County probate records have been abstracted and/or indexed:
- [1836-1861] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL US/CAN 976.8 P22s. [Includes an index to this county's probate records.]
Taxation
The following Fayette County tax records have been abstracted:
- [1836] West, Betsy F. "Fayette County, Tennessee Tax List - 1836," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 22, No. 1 (Spring 1975):30-35; Vol. 22, No. 2 (Summer 1975):90-95; Vol. 22, No. 3 (Fall 1975):140-144; Vol. 22, No. 4 (Winter 1975):188-192. For FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals.
- [1874] Taxpayers, 1874, Old Timer Press. Ripley MS: Mar 1982. Vol. 1 Iss. 9.
Vital Records
Marriage
Marriages were not officially recorded in Fayette County until 1838, when a law was passed mandating the practice.[7] The following publication, based on early newspapers, helps to alleviate this genealogical obstacle:
- Lucas, Silas Emmett. Marriages from Early Tennessee Newspapers 1794-1851. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 V2L.
The following Fayette County Courthouse marriage records have been abstracted and/or indexed:
- [1838-1873] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Early West Tennessee Marriages. 2 vols. Nashville, Tenn.: B. Sistler & Associates, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 V2sb v. 1 ff. [Indexes names of brides and grooms, and marriage dates for weddings in this county for the specified years.]
Death
- Hays, Tony. West Tennessee Death Records [ca. 1823-1852]. 2 vols. n.p.: Kitchen Table Press, 1987. FHL FAM HIST Book 976.8 V2ht v. 1-2. [Fayette County is included in Vol. 2]
For deaths of Methodists in Fayette County between the 1830s and the 1920s, try:
- Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. [1847-1914] 10 vols. [Jackson, Tenn.]: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. [Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s.]
Societies and Libraries
| Somerville-Fayette County Library 216 W Market St Somerville, TN 38068 901-465-5248 Hours: Mon - Wed, Fri - Sat 9 am - 5 pm Thurs 12 pm - 8 pm |
The Historical Room contains county records, state records, family histories, obituaries, cemetery records, and church records |
| Fayette County Historical Society PO Box 304 Somerville, TN 38068 |
|
| West Tennessee Historical Society P.O. Box 111046 Memphis, TN 38111 Phone 901-475-6608 Email: efrank@memphis.edu |
Web Sites
- Family History Library Catalog (FamilySearch)
- Fayette County, TN Family History and Genealogy Message Board (Ancestry)
- Fayette County, TN Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
- Fayette County, TNGenWeb (USGenWeb)
- RootsWeb Mailing List: SW-TN-L (Southwest Tennessee List)
- RootsWeb Mailing List: TNFAYETT-L (Fayette County, Tennessee List)
- RootsWeb Mailing List: WEST-TNCHAT-L (West Tennessee Chat List)
- RootsWeb Mailing List: WESTTN-L (West Tennessee List)
References
- ↑ "List of Counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002), 639.
- ↑ Fayette County, Tennessee: A Partial Bibliography, updated 12/30/2002.
- ↑ Fayette County, Tennessee: A Partial Bibliography, updated 12/30/2002.
- ↑ Fayette County, Tennessee: A Partial Bibliography, updated 12/30/2002.
- ↑ Fayette County, Tennessee: A Partial Bibliography, updated 12/30/2002.
- ↑ Gale Williams Bamman, C.G., "Research in Tennessee," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 81, No. 2 (June 1993):105. FHL US/CAN Book 973 B2ng v. 81 (1993)
- This page was last modified on 9 November 2012, at 14:26.
- This page has been accessed 960 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More