Talk:Wales CensusEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Providing a list of census surname indexes available at the Family History Library has very limited value unless there is a link to a website where an individual unable to visit Salt Lake City can go to purchase a copy of the index for their personal use. Since most people start their searches online I agree that the online indexes should be listed first. There is a point where a person may need to consult one of these indexes done by a local family history society. It is not enough to make a list of these indexes. There should be a plan for pointing people to this sort of index as part of a solution strategy. Darris G. Williams 15:51, 20 June 2012 (UTC)
Does anyone have any suggestions that we should be aware of as we add more information and links to the wiki on the FHL's reference book of Welsh census surname indexes at the library?
As with England, we have now added these reference tables for Wales that contain the tables of placenames for which the FHL has census surname indexes. You can view an example by searching for ['County name' Census Surname Index], e.g. "Anglesey Census Surname Index A-K.
I also think that this page should be rearranged so that the online surname indexes are shown prior to the sections on FHL indexes, batch numbers and searching the web. I think these primary tools should be shown prior to providing the more detailed information about searching census records, FHL indexes and batch numbers, etc. Before making these changes, I would like to get your views on this. Thank you for sharing your viewpoint with me.
Thank YOU / YOUR Article is Selected
The FamilySearch Research Wiki is delighted to let you know that the “Wales Census” article you helped create will be highlighted on the Main Page of the Wiki. It will appear November 12, 2012 and remain for seven days. Thank you for your excellent work – you have given readers/researchers important access to records. Your contributions are appreciated and will assist others in finding their ancestors. You have made a difference in research!
We invite you to do any enhancing, editing or changing to this article before we post it. If you are considering an edit we ask that it be completed by November 11, 2012. If you feel this article is not ready to be highlighted, please let us know. Thank you for your time and effort!
Featured Article Committee members –
- This page was last modified on 3 September 2014, at 01:59.
- This page has been accessed 653 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News