Talladega County, AlabamaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Alabama  Gotoarrow.png  Talladega County

Guide to Talladega County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Alabama
Online Records


Talladega County, Alabama
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 18, 1832
County Seat Talladega
Courthouse
Talladega County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Address Talladega County Courthouse
Court House Square
Talladega, AL 35160
Phone: (256) 761-2102 County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Probate Court has marriage, probate and land from 1833
Military Discharge  Records from 1930
Chancery Court has divorce records 1888-1892 [1]

History

Parent County

1832--Talladega County was created 18 December 1832 from the Creek Cession of 1832.
County seat: Talladega [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Alabama counties see: Alabama Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Altalladega.jpg

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

Additional Talladega County cemeteries are included in Alabama Cemetery Records Vol. 1, Vol. 3, Vol. 4, and Vol. 6 at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

  • Ivison, Hazle R. Collins. Index to Alabama Cemeteries: Blount County, Coosa County, St. Clair County, Talladega County, Winston County. n.d. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
184012,587
185018,62448.0%
186023,52026.3%
187018,064−23.2%
188023,36029.3%
189029,34625.6%
190035,77321.9%
191037,9216.0%
192041,0058.1%
193045,24110.3%
194051,83214.6%
195063,63922.8%
196065,4952.9%
197065,280−0.3%
198073,82613.1%
199074,1070.4%
200080,3218.4%
201082,2912.5%
For tips on accessing Talladega County, Alabama census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Talladega County, Alabama. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps

Military 

Civil War

Civil War service men from Talladega County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Talladega County.

- 1st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G (Alabama Rifles)
- 5th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E
- 10th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E "Talladega Davis Blues"
- 10th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K
- 13th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C
- 14th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I "Hillabee Rifles"
- 18th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K (Confederate Blues)
- 25th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G and H
- 29th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A " The Walker Reynolds Guards"
- 30th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A
- 30th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C, F and I
- 31st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B, E and F
- 42nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G
- 51st Regiment, Alabama Partisan Rangers, Company C and F



Newspapers

Finding More Alabama Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Talladega County, Alabama newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Talladega County, Alabama Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Talladega County, Alabama Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

  • 1830-1976 - Talladega County, Alabama Probate Records, 1830-1976 at FamilySearch - free.

Research Guides

  • Inventory of the County Archives of Alabama: Talladega County. Birmingham, Ala.: The Project, 1940. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Taxation

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Talladega County is in District 2.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records


Birth
Marriage
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1835-1837, 1840, 1842-1843, 1845-1856, 1862-1864, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
  • 1846-1864 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
Death
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.

Societies and Libraries

Societies

Talladega County Historical Association
106 Broome St.
Talladega, Alabama 35160

Libraries

Talladega Public Library
202 South Street East
Talladega, Alabama 35160
Telephone: 256-362-4211

Public Library of Anniston - Calhoun County
108 E. 10th St.
Anniston, Alabama 36201
Telephone: 256-237-8501

Collections include local history and genealogical records of Talladega County.

Family History Center

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Talladega County p. 39. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 July 2014, at 21:43.
  • This page has been accessed 9,923 times.