Tallahatchie County, MississippiEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Tallahatchie County Mississippi genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png  Mississippi  Gotoarrow.png  Tallahatchie County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Mississippi
Online Records


Tallahatchie County, Mississippi
Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Tallahatchie County
Location in the state of Mississippi
Map of the U.S. highlighting Mississippi
Location of Mississippi in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 23 December, 1833
County Seat Charleston
Courthouse
Tallahatchie County Mississippi Courthouse.jpg
Address Tallahatchie County Courthouse
PO Box Drawer 350;
Charleston, MS 38921
Phone: 662.647.5551Tallahatchie County Courthouse]

Contents

County Courthouse

Tallahatchie County Courthouse
PO Box Drawer 350;
Charleston, MS 38921
Phone: 662.647.5551

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1909. Clerk Chancery Court has divorce and probate records from 1909 and land records from 1858. [1]

Beginning Dates for Tallahatchie County, Mississippi Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1909


1858
1909

History

Parent County

1833--Tallahatchie County was created 23 December 1833 from the Choctaw Cession.
County seat: Charleston [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Mississippi counties see: Mississippi Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Tallahatchie County, Mississippi census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Tallahatchie County, Mississippi. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War
  • Men from Tallahatchie County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Tallahatchie County. 
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company D - Tillatoba Grays
- 2nd Regiment, Mississippi Partisans [Also known as 2nd Partisan Rangers Cavalry/Ballentine’s]
Company I - Eskridge’s Company
- 32nd Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company F - Southern Farmers
- 11th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Tallahatchie Guards Independent Cavalry

Naturalization

Newspapers

Occupations

Probate Records

Taxation

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth
  • 1805-1879 - Tallahatchie County Birth Index 1805-1879. Batch C520322 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Mississippi Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tallahatchie County, Mississippi page 383, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f2/Igimississippip.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 July 2014, at 02:06.
  • This page has been accessed 5,984 times.