Tamworth, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Tamworth, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Tamworth, Staffordshire
Tamworth St Editha Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hemlingford; North Offlow; South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Tamworth PLU
Registration District Tamworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1664
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tamworth
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Parish History

Tamworth is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Staffordshire. Part of the parish is also in Warwickshire. Wilnecote and Castle Liberty, Warwickshire is a chapelry of Tamworth. Other places in the parish include: Syerscote. TAMWORTH (St.Edith), a borough, markettown, and parish, and the head of a union, partly in the N., and partly in the S., division of the hundred of Offlow, S. division of the county of Stafford; and partly in the Tamworth division of the hundred of Hemlingford, N. division of the county of Warwick. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, and Wesleyans; and a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

The History of the Town and Castle of Tamworth: In the Counties of Stafford and Warwick (1845) digitised by Google Books - free.

The History and Antiquities of the Collegiate Church of Tamworth, in the County of Stafford (1871) digitised by Google Books - free.

Resources

Contents

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Staffordshire BMD have indexes for births marriages and deaths. Due to March 2011 reorganisation of the registration service for South Staffordshire districts the historical registration indexes for this district have been located at the Newcastle under Lyme registration district (formerly held at Lichfield) and applications for certificates need to be directed there. Please refer to the "Updates" page of  Staffordshire BMD for further information.

Church records

Tamworth St Editha parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
FSBOOK = FamilySearch Books - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
TAMWORTH ST EDITHA PARISH (1549) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1556-1901 1556-1901 1557-1900 1557-1900
FREG 1795-1839


1795-1812
FS 1556-1614, 1664-1809, 1813-1868
1557-1614, 1664-1766, 1773-1809, 1813-1844


FSBOOK 1558-1614
1558-1614
1558-1614
NBI



1549-1890

Tamworth St Editha deposited parish registers held at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1558-1995, Mar 1558-1994, Bur 1558-1919 Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1664-1869, Mar 1664-1844, Bur 1664-1869 note Bap/bur missing for 1865

Tamworth St John the Baptist parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

TAMWORTH ST JOHN THE BAPTIST PARISH (1837) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI



1813-1837


Non-Conformist Churches

Tamworth Cole Hill Presbyterian registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

TAMWORTH COLE HILL PRESBYTERIAN (1695) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1695-1700





Tamworth Primitive Methodist Circuit registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

TAMWORTH PRIMITIVE METHODIST CIRCUIT (1869) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1869-1914




Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474616.

Poor Law Unions

Tamworth Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 297-300. Date accessed: 06 November 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
  3. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 August 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  6. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 August 2014, at 01:23.
  • This page has been accessed 2,028 times.