Tannington, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Hoxne Hundred Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes Gotoarrow.png Tannington

Guide to Tannington, Suffolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

TANNINGTON, a village scattered round an open green of nearly nine acres, 4 miles N.E. of Framlingham, 7 miles W.N.W. of Debenham, and 5 miles S. of Stradbroke, has in its parish 252 souls, and 1600a. 1 R. 26p. of land, all freehold, belonging to the Earl of Stradbroke, (lord of the manor,) Lord Henniker, Sir Robert S. Adair, and the Meadows, Whitbread, Clutten, and a few other families. The Dades had formerley a seat and estate here. The Church (St. Ethelbert) is an ancient structure, with a tower containing five bells....[1]


Resources

If you live in Suffolk then you will have access to a variety of resources; however , for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers.   Refer to Tannington and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.

Civil Registration

Tannington was in Hoxne district till 1907 at which time it was moved into Hartismere District. In 1907 Hoxne district was abolished. To search an index of Hoxne or Hartismere district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.  While the district had been created in 1837 for the purpose of recording births, deaths , and marriages, the Hundred had been in existence for hundreds of years for administrative, military, and judicial purposes.

Church records

Tannington, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
Tannington, Suffolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1539-1754

IGI 1539-1660, 1839-1873 To 1825
NBI

1539-1902

The Parish Registers begin in 1539.  They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office.  A copy of the registers from 1539 to 1900 can be purchased from the  Suffolk Record Office.  For pre 1813 Bishop Transcript entries you will need to look in Hoxne Deanry, Archdeaconry of Suffolk.  Parish Chest records are lacking for Tannington.   See Suffolk Church Records for further details.

Census records

There are census records available for Tannington from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Tannington, England, Census in the library catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in the county.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details.

Probate records

Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Tannington was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District.  Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.

Maps and Gazetteers

  • Suffolk Gazetteers and Directories from 1839 to 1909 - Suffolk Gazetteers and directories provide a brief history and description of each parish and lists principal residents. They mention the farmers and tradesman in each parish and the nearest market towns among other items.
  • National Gazetteers provide a brief description of each place
    • Vision of Britain
    • British History Online - TANNINGTON (St. Ethelbert), a parish, in the union and hundred of Hoxne, E. division of Suffolk, 4¾ miles (N. W.) from Framlingham. The parish is annexed with that of Brundish (which also see).[6]

Websites


References

  1. William White, 1844 Gazetteer of Suffolk; page 473
  2. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
  6. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England. (1848). Date accessed: 09 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:45.
  • This page has been accessed 1,569 times.