Tarporley, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes 

Guide to Tarporley, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tarporley, Cheshire
St Helen's Church, Tarporley.jpg
St Helen's Church, Tarporley
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eddisbury
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Nantwich PLU
Registration District Nantwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TARPORLEY (St. Helen), is a market-town and parish, in the union of Nantwich, First division of the hundred of Eddisbury, South division of the county of Chester; containing, with the townships of Eaton, Rushton, and Utkinton, is 10½ miles (E. S. E.) from Chester.  There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Tarporley St Helen's is an Ancient Parish in Cheshire including Eaton, Rushton and Utkinton.

The first documentary evidence of a church on this site is in 1287. The earliest parts of the present church are the two chapels which date from the 15th century. The rest of the church has been altered in a series of restorations. The Arderne (north) chapel was remodelled in 1861, the Utkinton (south) chapel in 1865.

Tarporley was a township in Tarporley Parish, Eddisbury Hundred, which became a civil parish in 1866. In 1936 part of Eaton (near Tarporley) was added to Tarporley.
It included the hamlets of Arderne (part), Birch Heath, Cobblers Green and Rhuddall Heath.
Tarporley is a large village and civil parish in the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England. Tarporley civil parish also contains the village of Rhuddall Heath.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241236.

Church records

Tarporley St Helen parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Tarporley St Helen Parish (1557) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1825-1852
1830-1851

FS PR's 1557-1909
  NONE
1567-1923
  NONE
1559-1888
  NONE
FS BT'S 1627-1864   NONE
1627-1864
  NONE
1627-1848
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Tarporley, Cheshire, 1558-1923 Cheshire Record Office reference: P22/1/1-6, P22/2/1-4, P22/3/1-5, P22/5/1-2, P22/6-7.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Early registers, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1558-1577. BRITISH 2106812 Item 10
Marriages 1575-1754. Baptisms and burials, 1575-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1882. BRITISH 2106813
Baptisms, 1882-1921. Marriages, 1754-1923. Marriage banns, 1830-1898. BRITISH 2106814
Burials, 1813-1888. Rough register of baptisms and burials, 1808-1830. Register of graves, 1830-1853. BRITISH 2106815 Items 1 - 4

Bishop's transcripts for Tarporley, 1600-1864 Text in Latin and English.
Records are not in strict chronological order. Some years are missing.

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts (Diocese of Chester) is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1600, 1611-1618, 1622-1641, 1663-1664, 1668-1685, 1688-1761, 1814. Baptisms, burials, 1762-1799, 1801-1813, 1817-1824.Baptisms, 1815-1816, 1825. BRITISH 1751853
Baptisms, marriage, burials, 1830-1851. Baptisms, burials, 1825-1829, 1839-1847. Baptisms, 1852. BRITISH 1751854
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1851-1864. BRITISH 1751855
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Tarporley, St. Thomas a Becket (Roman Catholic), Nantwich Road/Eaton Road. Founded 1938.
  • Tarporley Baptist Union Chapel. Founded 1817, Built in 1866.
  • Tarporley, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1791, rebuilt in 1867, closed in 1976. Registers 1839–1894 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Tarporley, Methodist Chapel (Primitive). Built in 1846.

Non-Conformist Records:

Cheshire Record Office Reference EMS 253  Tarporley Wesleyan Methodist Chapel Registers 1902-75, Various records 1834-1961 URL http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/a2a/records.aspx?cat=017-ems253&cid=0

Church records for the Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Tarporley, 1839-1894, 1902-1961 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: ZCR 55/129, EMS 253/1/1.

An index for Cheshire Non-conformist records is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

Other Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1839-1865, 1880-1894. VAULT BRITISH 2299384 Item 2
Marriages, 1902-1961. FHL BRITISH 2299525 Item 20

Church records for the Tarporley Wesleyan Methodist Circuit, 1839-1929 Localities include Tarporley, Eaton, Eddisbury, Tarvin, Tattenhall, Rushton, Crewe, Burton, Alpraham, Acton, Bickerton, Duddon, Bunbury, Calveley, Ashton, Clotton, Little Budworth, Kelsall, Beeston, Tilstone, Oscroft, Willington, Hoofield, Spurston, Wardle, Woodworth Green, Ellesmere Port, Rushton, Birch Heath,Cheshire Record Office reference: EMC 16/4/1-2.

An index for Cheshire Non-conformist records is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

Other Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1867-1888, 1839-1929 (Bunbury Chapel, 1839-1881). VAULT BRITISH 2299551 Items 1 - 2

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Nantwich (1837–92)
  • Chester (1892–1937)
  • Northwich (1937–74)
  • Vale Royal (1974–98)
  • Cheshire Central (1998–2009)
  • Cheshire West (post 2009)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Tarporley on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 10 April 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

Bibliography

Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 317–321
Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, pp. 72–73, ISBN 1871731232
Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 350–351, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 November 2014, at 20:16.
  • This page has been accessed 2,083 times.