Tatenhill, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Tatenhill, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tatenhill, Staffordshire
St+Michael+and+All+Angels Tatenhill Staffordshire.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Burton upon Trent PLU
Registration District Burton upon Trent
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660; Separate records exist for Needwood Forest beginning 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tutbury
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Tatenhill is an Ancient Parish in the county of Staffordshire. Other places in the parish include: Dunstall, Highlands Park, Needwood, Tatenhill and Callingwood, Needwood Forest Allotments, Rangemore, and Needwood Forest.

TATENHILL (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Burton-upon-Trent, N. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, 3½ miles (W. S. W.) from Burton-upon-Trent. [1]

A History of the Parish of Tatenhill in the County of Stafford (1907) has been digitised by Internet Archive - free.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Staffordshire BMD includes registered births for the Burton upon Trent Registration District . http://www.staffordshirebmd.org.uk/cgi/birthind.cgi?county=staffordshire The registration district prior to 1937 included this parish. From 1937 onwards the Lichfield district was responsible. Registers are now held at
The Register Office, The Old Library Building, Bird Street, Lichfield WS 13 6PN Tel. 01543 510773

Church records

Tatenhill parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
TATENHILL PARISH (1564) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1563-1849 1563-1849 1563-1754 1563-1754 1563-1812 1563-1812
FREG 1563-1812, 1820-1837
1563-1613
1563-1812
FS 1563-1868
1563-1841

NBI

1564-1887
PALL
1790-1812

Dunstall chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

DUNSTALL CHAPELRY (1854) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1854-1880


FMP 1854-1880 1854-1880

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474613.

Poor Law Unions

Burton upon Trent Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Tatenhill/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 303-310. Date accessed: 06 November 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
  4. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 September 2014.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  8. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:49.
  • This page has been accessed 1,706 times.