Tatham, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Tatham, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tatham, Lancashire
St James' Church, Tatham Lancashire.jpeg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Caton Gilbert Union PLU
Registration District Lancaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1676
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tunstall
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Lonsdale
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Tatham St James the Less is an Ancient Parish in the county of Lancashire.

The Diocese of Blackburn is a Church of England diocese, covering much of Lancashire, created in 1926 from part of the Diocese of Manchester. The Diocese includes the towns of Blackburn, Blackpool, Burnley, and the cities of Lancaster, and Preston, as well as a large part of the Ribble Valley.

"TATHAM St James,a parish, in the hundred of Lonsdale south of the Sands, N. division of Lancashire; containing, with the chapelry of Tatham-Fell, 11 miles northeast by east from Lancaster. The parish was established by 1558. At Tatham-Fell is also another church within the parish, a chapel of ease, which was erected by the year 1745."[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Tatham St. James the Less parish registers and those registers of all of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index (£)
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
TATHAM ST JAMES THE LESS PARISH (1558) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1558-1872 1558-1837 None
LOPC None 1558-1837 None
JOIN 1813-1837
LBMD None 1916-1989 None
FMP None 1558-1837 None
AC 1558-1837 1558-1837 1558-1837
TATHAM FELL GOOD SHEPHERD Chapelry  (1572) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1745-1865 1572-1754 None
LOPC 1745-1900 1745-1754 1760-1812
LBMD None None None
AC 1745-1837 1745-1837 1745-1837
Original Records

The Lancashire Record Office at Bow Lane, Preston PR2 1RE, holds the original parish registers in its vast collections. Contact their website for contact information.

The Family History Library has microfilmed the parish registers and Bishop's transcripts of Tatham St. James the Less parish for the years 1558-1837. These films are available for ordering/circulating and researching at any one of its satellite FamilySearch Centers worldwide.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306916.


Poor Law Unions

Caton Gilbert Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 303-310. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 2,406 times.