Tattnall County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Tattnall County, Georgia)

United States Gotoarrow.pngGeorgiaGotoarrow.png Tattnall County

Guide to Tattnall County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Tattnall County, Georgia
Map of Georgia highlighting Tattnall County
Location in the state of Georgia
Founded December 5, 1801
County Seat Reidsville
Address Tattnall County Courthouse
Main and Brazell Streets
Reidsville, GA 30453
Phone: 912.557.6761
Tattnall County Website


County Courthouse

Tattnall County Courthouse
Main and Brazell Streets
Reidsville, GA 30453
Phone: 912.557.6761

Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and probate records; Clerk Superior Court has divorce records from 1880, court and land records[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
111 North Main Street
P.O. Box 39
Reidsville, GA 30453
Telephone: (912) 557-6716
Fax: (912) 557-4861

Probate Court of Tattnall County
PO Box 699
Reidsville, GA 30453
Telephone: 912-557-6719

Beginning Dates for Tattnall County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate


Parent County

1801--Tattnall County was created 5 December 1801 from Montgomery County. County seat: Reidsville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

No reported loss or damage.[3]


Populated Places

Cobbtown | Collins | Glennville | Manassas | Reidsville

Neighboring Counties

Appling County  • Candler County  • Emanuel County  • Evans County  • Liberty County  • Long County  • Toombs County  • Wayne County

Tattnall CountyToombs CountyMontgomery CountyCandler CountyWheeler CountyJeff Davis CountyPierce CountyBacon CountyAppling CountyWayne CountyMcIntosh CountyLong CountyLiberty CountyBryan CountyEvans CountyBulloch CountyEffignham CountyScreven CountyEmanuel CountyJenkins CountyJohnson CountyTreutlen CountyGATattnall.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

  • 1866-1872 - Tattnall County Colored Marriage Index 1866-1872. Batch M713776 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Bible Records


LDS Cemetery Records

US Vol. 5

  • page 109 - Beards Creek Cemetery
  • page 130 - Birdford Cemetery
  • page 131 - Ebenezer Cemetery
  • page 142 - Eason Family Cemetery
  • page 142 - Sebron Cemetery
  • page 143 - Daniel Cemetery
  • page 143 - Zion Cemetery
  • page 144 - Dowdy Family Cemetery
  • page 144 - Parker Family Cemetery
  • page 144 - Perry Collins Family Cemetery
  • page 145 - Hammock Family Cemetery
  • page 146 - Kennedy Cemetery
  • page 146 - DeLoach Cemetery
  • page 148 - Rewis Family Cemetery
  • page 149 - Rogers Chapel Cemetery
  • page 149 - Harmony Church Cemetery
  • page 150 - Union Methodist Church Cemetery
  • page 150 - Lynn Family Cemetery


Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.



Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Tattnall County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.




Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Tattnall County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Tattnall County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 11th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (State Guards) (Confederate) , Company G
- 47th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- 61st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies B and H
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project



Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Tattnall County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Marriage Records

1828 - 1978 Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $ 1699 - 1944 Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry.com— index $

  • 1806-1873 - Tattnall County Marriage Index 1806-1873. Batch M713771 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1850-1873 - Tattnall County Marriage Index 1850-1873. Batch M713772 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1873-1884 - Tattnall County Marriage Books E and F Index 1873-1884. Batch M713773 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1884-1890 - Tattnall County Marriage Books G and H Index 1884-1890. Batch M713774 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1889-1895 - Tattnall County Marriage Books J and D Index 1889-1895. Batch M713775 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death Records

1919 - 1998 Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at Ancestry.com — index $

Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Tattnall County Historical Society
PO Box 2012
Reidsville, GA 30453-2012

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See [[Introduction to LDS Family History Centers|Family History Center] for more information. Search the [https://familysearch.org/ask/help#localResource online FHC director for a nearby family history center.



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tattnall County, Georgia. Page 160 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 53. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 October 2015, at 18:24.
  • This page has been accessed 9,851 times.