Tawstock, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.pngDevon Parishes

Guide to Tawstock, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tawstock, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Fremington
County Devon
Poor Law Union Barnstaple PLU
Registration District Barnstaple
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for Tawstock Holy Trinity beginning 1842
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Barnstaple
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TAWSTOCK (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Barnstaple, hundred of Fremington, Braunton and N. divisions of Devon, 2 miles (S.) from Barnstaple. It comprises 5000 acres, including 400 common or waste land. The Independents and Roman Catholics have places of worship.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241311.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 303-310. Date accessed: 04 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 May 2014, at 20:00.
  • This page has been accessed 536 times.