Taxal, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes 

Guide to Taxal, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Taxal, Cheshire
Taxal St James contributor Rob Bradford.jpg
Taxal St James contributor Rob Bradford
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Macclesfield PLU
Registration District Macclesfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1610
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

TAXALL (St. James), is a parish, in the union and hundred of Macclesfield, North division of the county of Chester; containing, with the township of Yeardsley with Whaley, it is 4 miles (W.) from Chapel-en-le-Frith.  The church, with the exception of the tower, was taken down and rebuilt on a larger scale, in 1825. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

St James Taxal  is an ancient parish on the Cheshire /Derbyshire border and includes Whaley Bridge, Yeardsley and Whaley.Although historically part of Cheshire as will be seen the hamlet is now part of Derbyshire.

The church stands on a slope above the river Goyt, in the hamlet of Taxal, which is within the Peak District National Park, approximately one mile from Whaley Bridge. There has been a church at Taxal since the 12th century. The first recorded rector was in 1287.
Part of the tower is very old and possibly 12th century. The church itself has been enlarged and restored mostly in the 17th and 19th centuries.
The township of Yeardsley-cum-Whaley, Cheshire, was part of the ancient parish of Taxal. The township adopted the Local Government Act 1858 and formed a local board to govern the town. Under the Local Government Act 1894 this became Yeardsley-cum-Whaley Urban District. On the Derbyshire side of the River Goyt, the parish of Fernilee was included in Chapel en le Frith Rural District.

In 1974 the Local Government Act 1972 came into force, abolishing all urban and rural districts in England and Wales, and replacing them with non-metropolitan districts. Whaley Bridge became part of the district of High Peak, with a successor parish formed for the area of the urban district.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241246.

Church records

Taxal St James registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FMP = FindMyPast
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[6]
Taxal St James Parish (1599) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1712-1891
1712-1842

BOYD
1651-1675, 1701-1750, 1776-1837

FS PR's 1652-1867
  NONE
1654-1894
  NONE
1655-1894
  NONE
FS BT'S 1599-1878
  NONE
1599-1842
  NONE
1599-1878
  NONE
FMP (£)



1610-1894
1610-1894
JOIN
1611-1837

NBI

1610-1894
TGEN
1611-1837

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Taxal, St. James (formerly St. Leonard) (C of E). An ancient parish church, originally serving the townships of Taxal and Yeardsley cum Whaley. Registers of Baptisms 1610–1977, Marriages 1610–1994 and Burials 1610–1956 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office. Cheshire Record Office reference: P233/1/1-6, 3/1-3, 4/1-2.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1610-1701. BRITISH 1999756 Items 10 - 11
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1701-1867. Marriages, 1868-1885. BRITISH 1999757
Marriages, 1885-1894. Burials, 1813-1894 (includes an index for burials, 1855-1895). BRITISH 1999758 Items 1 - 3

Bishop's Transcripts Records are not arranged in strict chronological order. Some intermittent years are missing.

Bishop's Transcript Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1599-1600, 1663-1665, 1668-1674, 1676, 1678-1686, 1691. BRITISH 1836387 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1712, 1715, 1717-1724, 1726-1749, 1751-1808, 1810-1813, 1815, 1818-1837. Baptisms, burials, 1838-1845. BRITISH 1836388
Baptisms, burials, 1846-1878. BRITISH 1850100

Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB/196  Fernilee, Holy Trinity (C of E). A chapel of ease to Taxal. Registers of Baptisms from 1883 and Marriages from 1906 are held at the church (no burials).

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Christians
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Association

Non-Conformist Records:

Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Whalley Chapel (Whaley-cum-Yeardsley, Cheshire : Wesleyan) FHLFilm
Church records
British 20053 Item 7
Another filming. London : Public Record Office, 1986. on 1 microfilm reel ; 35 mm.
British 1482409 Item 4

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Macclesfield (1837–1937)
  • Cheshire East

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to <a href="Cheshire Probate Records">Cheshire Probate Records</a> to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Taxal on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 12 April 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 25 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 November 2014, at 20:33.
  • This page has been accessed 3,797 times.