Taylor County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Taylor County

Guide to Taylor County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


Taylor County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 4, 1875
County Seat Medford
Courthouse
Address Taylor County Courthouse
224 S 2nd Street
Medford, WI 54451
Phone: 715.748.1460
Taylor County Website
WI Taylor.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Taylor County Courthouse
224 S 2nd Street
Medford, WI 54451
Phone: 715.748.1460 

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, marriage, death
and land from 1875; Clerk Circuit has divorce and court
from 1875; Judge’s Office has probate records; County
Clerk has census records; Historical Society has burial 
records [1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1875--Taylor County was created 4 March 1875 from Chippewa,Clark,Lincoln and Marathon Counties.
County seat: Medford

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

  • City of Medford
  • Village of Stetsonville
  • Village of Rib Lake
  • Village of Lublin

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

Church History and Records

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums

Frances L. Simek Memorial Library
400 N. Main Street
Medford, WI 54451
Telephone 715-748-2505
Website:  http://www.sws-wis.com/medfordpubliclibrary/

County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Societies

Taylor County Genealogical Society
224 S. Second Street
Medford, WI 54451
Website:  http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~witcgs/

Taylor County Historical Society
845A E. Broadway Ave.
Medford, WI 54451
Telephone 715-748-3808

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Divorce
Death

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 759 Taylor County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 21:34.
  • This page has been accessed 4,633 times.