Tazewell County, IllinoisEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png IllinoisGotoarrow.png Tazewell County

Guide to Tazewell County, Illinois ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Illinois
Online Records


Tazewell County, Illinois
Map
Map of Illinois highlighting Tazewell County
Location in the state of Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: January 31, 1827
County Seat Pekin
Courthouse
Tazewell County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address Tazewell County Courthouse
McKenzie Building
2nd Floor
4th and Court Streets
Pekin, IL 61554
(309) 477-2264
Tazewell County Website

Contents

Tazewell County Organization

Tazewell County's civil records start the following years:

                                     Beginning Dates for Tazewell County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1878
1827
1878
1830
1825
1827

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Tazewell County are kept, see the Tazewell County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts

Littleton Tazewell.jpg
The county was named for Lyttleton Waller Tazewell, and iminent lawyer, Governor, Representative in Congress, and United States Senator from Virginia

Parent County

  • 1827--Tazewell County was created 31 January 1827 from Sangamon County.  County seat: Pekin [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

1825-1827 Peoria

1821-1825 Sangamon

1817-1821 Bond

1812-1821 Madison

1790-1812 St. Clair

1790-1801 Knox. Northwest Territory

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in Illinois counties see: Illinois Counties with Burned Courthouses

Records and Resources

Biography

The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Tazewell County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Tazewell County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.

Portrait and Biographical Record of Tazewell and Mason Counties, Illinois  (Internet Archive)

Tazewell County Biography   (WorldCat)

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

  • Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried. Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone.  May give obituaries,names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190033,221
191034,0272.4%
192038,54013.3%
193046,08219.6%
194058,36226.6%
195076,16530.5%
196099,78931.0%
1970118,64918.9%
1980132,07811.3%
1990123,692−6.3%
2000128,4853.9%
IL Counties 1900-1990

1840 Pensioners

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, Tazewell County on page 188.]

Church Records

Court Records

Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Illinois State University (ISU) - search for Tazewell County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the ISU IRAD Wiki page.

1837-1859 Circuit Court Dockets IRAD-ISU

Court Records Available at the Family History Library

1862-1926 Guardian's Records. Tazewell County Court. FHL 1315597 Items 2-4 First of 10 films. Index included.

Ethnic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Land and Property

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

1850-1863 Swamp Land Record IRAD-ISU

Land Records available through the Family History Library

1824-1920 Deed Records Tazewell County Recorder FHL 1314784 first film of 51. Index included

1827-1871 Deed Records. Tazewell County Recorder. FHL Collection

Local Histories

  • Early History of Washington, Illinois and Vicinity. Washington, Ill.: Tazewell County Reporter, 1929. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Iltazewell.jpg

Military Records

For information about using Military records see Illinois Military Records

Revolutionary War

Veteran Burials (Genealogy Trails History Group)

War of 1812

Military Land Grants Tazewell County, Illinois for Soldiers of the War of  1812 - USGenWeb

Blackhawk War

Captain John G. Adams' Company - USGenWeb

Captain Jacob M. Farley's Company - USGenWeb

Indian Wars

Military Land Grants in Tazewell County, Illinois for Soldiers of the Indian Wars - USGenWeb

Mexican War

Comapny G Fourth Illinois Volunteers - USGenWeb

Civil War


Civil War service men from Tazewell County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Tazewell County.

Cavalry


- 3rd Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company B
- 4th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company H
-11th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company F, and Company H

Infantry

- 8th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (3 months, 1861), Company F
- 8th Regiment, (3 years) Illinois Infantry, Company F
- 31st_Regiment,_Illinois_Infantry, Company I
- 44th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company A, and  Company K
-47th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B, and Company E
- 73rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B
- 85th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company A, and Company E
- 86th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company G
- 94th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company I
- 100th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company A
-108th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company A, Company B, and Company K
-115th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H
-139th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C
-146th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company K
-148th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C
-152nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D


Grand Army of the Republic (GAR)

A list of GAR Post in Illinois an additional site for post in Illinois; Library of Congress

Delavan Post, Delavan 1913 - USGenWeb

Joe Hanna Post, Pekin 1913 - USGenWeb

John Hunter Post, Minier 1913 - USGenWeb

1861-1862 Militia Roll Record - IRAD-ISU

1864-1949 Military Discharge Record IRAD-ISU. Also available at the Family History Library FHL film 1689000 and 1689001

Available at the Family History Library

1864-1891 Soldier's Discharge. Tazewell County Recorder. FHL Film 1314942 Items 3-4

1883 Tazewell County Pensioners List -USGenWeb

World War I

World War I Draft Registration Cards,  1917-1918   (Ancestry)

World War II

Army Casualties Part 1    (U.S. National Archives and Records Administation)

Army Casualties Part 2     (U.S. National Archives and Records Administration)

Naturalization

Original naturalization records are held in the office of the County Clerk. See Illinois Naturalization Records for more information about using naturalization records.

The following copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Illinois State University (ISU) - search for Tazewell County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the ISU IRAD Wiki page.

1839-1892 Naturalization Declarations of Intent, Circuit Court IRAD-ISU

1866-1903 Naturalization Declarations of Intent, County Court IRAD-ISU. Also available at the Family History Library FHL film 1689032-1689034

1856-1906 Naturalization Papers, County Court IRAD-ISU

1867-1888 Naturalization Record of Soldier's and Minors, Circuit Court IRAD-ISU

1903-1906 Naturalization Record, County Court IRAD - ISU

1858-1886 Naturalization Record, Final, Circuit Court IRAD-ISU

1876-1903 Naturalization Record, Final, County Court IRAD-ISU

Naturalization Records available at Family History Library

1839-1906 Naturalization Records. Tazewell County Court.FHL films 1315943 Items 2-4 and 1315944

1856-1906 Naturalization Papers, Declarations of Intent, Tazewell County Clerk. FHL film 1689032-1689034

1839-1909 Tazewell County, Illinois Naturalization and Immigration Records. by Christal E. Dagit FHL fiche 6004596

Newspapers and Obituaries

Newspapers Published in Tazewell County  (Illinois Newspaper Project)

Chronicling American   (Library of Congress)

GenealogyBank has Historical Newspapers 1690-2007

Obituaries

   A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

  Illinios, Pekin Public Library Obituaries (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Probate Records

Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at theIllinois State University (ISU) - search for Tazewell County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the ISU IRAD Wiki page.

1912-1924 Probate Record IRAD-ISU

Probate records available at the Family History Library

1827-1923 Probate Records. Tazewell County Court. FHL film 1315947 First of 25 films. Includes index

1830-1924 Will Records. Tazewell County Court. FHL film 1315938 first film of 8. Includes indexes.

Repositories

See also a List of Illinois Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Illinois State University houses the records for Tazewell County.

Family History Centers

Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah (United States) and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources to assist you in the research and study of your genealogy. Currently there are no Family History Centers located directly in Tazewell County.

You may search your address for a center near you on the FamilySearch site. The following centers are located in surrounding counties. Their wiki pages may supply hours and other information.

FamilySearch Centers   (Family History Library)

County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Tazewell County are kept, see the Tazewell County Courthouse page.

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

Illinois State Universtiy (ISU)
2016 Warehouse Road Campus
Box 1520
Normal, Illinois 61802
Phone: 1-309-452-6027

Illinois Regional Archives Depository System - Local Governmental Records Listings Arranged by County

Public Libraries

Tazewell County Public Libraries   (Public Libraries Libraries Directory)

Social Groups Online

Societies

Tazewell County Genealogical and Historical Society was established in 1978 with the following mission: "to stimulate interest, to collect, preserve, and safeguard records, and to provide related educational services for the purpose of increasing and enriching public knowledge of our [Tazewell County] heritage." We currently (2011) have about 400 members.

Our library (the Ehrlicher Research Center) is located at 719 N Eleventh Street in Pekin, Illinois. The library is open Monday 9 am-1 pm, Tuesday 9 am-1 pm and 7-9 pm, Wednesday 9 am-4:30 pm, Thursday-Friday 9 am-1 pm, and Sunday 2-4:30 pm central time (closed on holidays and holiday weekends). We will also try to open at other times by advance appointment.

Our collection currently contains over 5000 volumes including family histories; county histories; atlases; cemetery books; marriage books, census records, newspapers on microfilm; funeral home records; surname card file; surname correspondence files; obituary index; church directories; historic photo collection; research publications from surrounding counties of McDonough, Fulton, McLean, Mason, Menard,and Peoria as well as other Illinois counties and other states; Civil War Records including "The War of the Rebellion. A Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies, 128 Volumes. Washington. 1882-1900". Our German collection including a complete set of "Germans to American" and Ostrfriesland OSB books is one the largest in the state of Illinois.

We also offer research services for those that can't make the trip to our library.Web Sites

Taxation

Vital Records

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.


Order Birth and Death Certificates Online

Vital Records (years vary; birth, marriage and death) available at Family History Library FHL Film 13314681 - 1314690

1904-1964 Cornoner's Inquest. Tazewell County Coroner. FHL film 1688998-1689000

Birth

1858-1916 Birth Record Index IRAD-ISU

1877-1916 Birth Record IRAD-ISU

Marriage

1827-1922 Marriage Record Index IRAD-ISU

1827-1835 Early Marriages of Tazeewell County - USGenWeb

1827-1922 Marriage Record IRAD-ISU

Early Marriages in Tazewell County (Internet Archives)

Death


1877-1954 Death Record Index IRAD-ISU

1877-1914 Death Record IRAD-ISU

1915-1934 Death Record, Coroner's IRAD-ISU

1869-1964 Coroner's Inquest Record IRAD-ISU

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Websites

Databases Pertinent to Tazewell County
Local Governmental Records Database
Name Index to Illinois Local Governments
Illinois Statewide Marriage Index
Illinois Statewide Death Index, 1916–1950
Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales Database
Federal Township Plats of Illinois

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 22:26.
  • This page has been accessed 8,899 times.