Tazewell County, VirginiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Virginia
Tazewell County
Guide to Tazewell County Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
| Tazewell County, Virginia | |
| Map | |
| | |
![]() Location in the state of Virginia | |
![]() Location of Virginia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | 1799 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Tazewell |
| Courthouse | |
Tazewell County, Virginia Courthouse
Tazewell County, Virginia
315 School Street
P O Box 968
Tazewell, Virginia 24651
540-988-7541
Clerk Circuit Court has birth and death records 1853-1870,
marriage probate and land records from 1800 and court
records from 1832[1]
| | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1853 | 1800 | 1853 | 1820 | 1800 | 1800 |
Tazewell County, Virginia History
The county is named after Henry Tazewell (1753-1799), a Revolutionary War Captain and Virginia politician.[2]
Parent County
1799--Tazewell County was created 17 December 1799 from Russell and Wythe Counties.
County seat: Tazewell [3]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
- Lost censuses: 1800, 1810, 1890
Tazewell County, Virginia Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Tazewell County, Virginia Genealogy Resources
Research Guides
- "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Tazewell County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 23, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1979):218-220. Digital version at American Ancestors ($).
African American
- Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872
Bible Records
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
- Virginia Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 - browse collection at FamilySearch; free.
Additional Bible records include:
Biography
- Brock, R.A. Virginia and Virginians: Tazewell County: Eminent Virginians, 1606-1888. Richmond, Va.: H.H. Hardesty, 1888. 1998 reprint: FHL. Online index is available.
Cemeteries
- Tombstone Transcription Project Tazewell County - cemetery transcriptions - USGenWeb
Census
For tips on accessing Tazewell County, Virginia census records online, see: Virginia Census.
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1800 | 2,127 | ||
| 1810 | 3,007 | 41.4% | |
| 1820 | 3,916 | 30.2% | |
| 1830 | 5,749 | 46.8% | |
| 1840 | 6,290 | 9.4% | |
| 1850 | 9,942 | 58.1% | |
| 1860 | 9,920 | −0.2% | |
| 1870 | 10,791 | 8.8% | |
| 1880 | 12,861 | 19.2% | |
| 1890 | 19,899 | 54.7% | |
| 1900 | 23,384 | 17.5% | |
| 1910 | 24,946 | 6.7% | |
| 1920 | 27,840 | 11.6% | |
| 1930 | 32,477 | 16.7% | |
| 1940 | 41,607 | 28.1% | |
| 1950 | 47,512 | 14.2% | |
| 1960 | 44,791 | −5.7% | |
| 1970 | 39,816 | −11.1% | |
| 1980 | 50,511 | 26.9% | |
| 1990 | 45,960 | −9.0% | |
| 2000 | 44,598 | −3.0% | |
1790 - Lost.
1800 - Lost.
1810 - Lost, but a subsitute is available, see Taxation.
1840
- Douthat, James L. 1840 Mountain Empire of Virginia Census. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2001. FHL Collection 975.5 X2d 1840. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website. [Includes Tazewell County.]
1890 Union Veterans
- Turner, Ronald Ray. Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890. Available online, courtesy: Prince William County Virginia website. [Includes residents of this county.]
Church
Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):
- Bluestone Monthly Meeting (1781-1783)[4]
Court
Chancery Court
- Indexed images to Tazewell County, Virginia Chancery Records 1800-1920 are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, which were often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.
County Court
- "Tazewell County, Virginia, Order Book 1800-1810, Selected Entries," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 15, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1971):61-70; Vol. 15, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1971):121. Available at American Ancestors ($). [Project cancelled once it was learned that Netti Schreiner-Yantis was preparing to publish a complete transcript of this order book.]
Genealogy
More than 65 genealogies have been published about Tazewell County families. To view a list, visit Tazewell County, Virginia Genealogy.
Land and Property
Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.
- Anderson. 699 patents dated 1782-1912 in what is now Russell and Tazewell Counties, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper. 2007. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]
- Sims, Edgar Barr. Sims Index to Land Grants in West Virginia. [Springfield, Virginia]: Genealogical Books in Print, c1992. Available at FHL. [Includes Tazewell County, Virginia.]
Local Histories
- Bickley, George W.L. and J. Allen Neal. History of the Settlement and Indian Wars of Tazewell County, Virginia. Parsons, West Virginia: McClain Print. Co., 1974. Available at FHL.
- Bundy, Nellie White. Sketches of Tazewell County, Virginia's Early History. Virginia?: Historic Crab Orchard Museum, 1976. Available at FHL.
- Harman, John Newton. Annals of Tazewell County, Virginia from 1800 to 1922 in Two Volumes. Richmond: W.C. Hill Print. Co., 1922-1925. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Pendleton, William C. History of Tazewell County and Southwest Virginia, 1748-1920. 4 parts. Richmond, Va.: W.C. Hill Printing Co., 1920. FHL; digital versions at Ancestry ($) and Google Books. Also digitized by FamilySearch Books Online: Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3 | Part 4 - Free.
Maps
Military
Revolutionary War
- Kegley, Mary B. Revolutionary War Pension Applications of Southwest Virginia Soldiers. n.p.: M.B. Kegley, 1997. FHL Collection [Includes Tazewell County pensioners.]
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Tazewell County on page 136.]
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.]
War of 1812
Tazewell County men served in the 112th Regiment.[5]
- Tazewell county,Virginia Soldiers who served in the War of 1812
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Tazewell County, p. 106. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Civil War
Regiments. Service men in Tazewell County, Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Tazewell County, Virginia:
- - 5th Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry, Artillery, and Infantry) (Confederate). Company G probably recruited in Tazewell County.[6]
- - 8th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company H (Tazewell Troop)[7]
- - 13th Battalion, Virginia Reserves (Confederate). Company B.[8]
- - 14th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate). Company K
- - 16th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Companies C, F, and I.[9]
- - 22nd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Bowen's Virginia Mounted Riflemen) (Confederate). Company F, Company H, and Company I.
- - 23rd Battalion, Virginia Infantry Reserves (Confederate). Company C and Company D.[10]
- - 34th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Witcher's Battalion, Virginia Mounted Rifles) (Confederate). Company C (McDowell Partisan Rangers) and Company E.[11]
- - 37th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Dunn's Battalion, Partisan Rangers) (Confederate). Company K.[12]
- - 45th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Floyd Guard), Company G (West Augusta Rifles), Company H (Tazewell Rangers), and Company K (Tazewell Boys).[13]
- - 50th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company C.[14]
- - 51st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company L.[15]
Records and histories are available, including:
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers 1861-1865
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers 1861-1865
Newspapers
Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in the Virginia Gazette and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia.
- 2010-present - Richlands News-Press at Genealogy Bank ($).
Occupations
- Stevenson, John J. "Notes on the Quinnimont Coal Group in Mercer Co. of West Virginia and Tazewell Co. of Virginia Notes on the Quinnimont Coal Group in Mercer Co. of West Virginia and Tazewell Co. of Virginia," Proceedings of the American Philosophical Society, Vol. 19, No. 109 (Jun.-Dec. 1881):498-505. Available at JSTOR ($).
Private Papers
- Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007
Probate Records
Taxation
How can Virginia tax lists help me?
- [1801-1820] Schreiner-Yantis, Netti. Archives of the Pioneers of Tazewell County, Virginia. Springfield, Va.: N. Schreiner-Yantis, c1973. FHL Book 975.576 N2s.
- [1802] Weaver, Jeffrey C. The 1802 Tazewell County, Virginia Personal Property Tax List, available online, courtesy: New River Notes.
- [1810] Schreiner-Yates, Netti. A Supplement to the 1810 Census of Virginia: Tax Lists of the Counties for which the Census is Missing. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1971. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1810 personal property tax lists. Tazewell County is included because the 1810 Census for that county has been destroyed.]
- [1810] Tazewell County, Virginia, 1810 [Personal Property] Tax List. [Signal Mountain, Tennessee?: Mountain Press?, n.d.] Available at FHL.
- [1810] Tax list, 1810, Southwest Virginian. Norton VA: Feb 1981. Vol. 4 Iss. 19.
- [1815] Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Tazewell County is included in Vol. 5.]
Vital Records
Indexes to Tazewell County, Virginia births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
Birth
- 1853-1870 - Tazewell County Birth Index 1853-1870. Batch C868687 (broken link) at FamilySearch - free.[16]
- Compiled Tazewell Co. Birth Index (VAGenWeb) - free.
Marriage
- 1660-1800 - Virginia Marriages 1660-1800 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1740-1850 - Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1800-1949 - Compiled Tazewell County Marriage Index (VAGenWeb) - free.
- 1800-1920 - Tazewell County Marriage Index 1800-1920. Batch M868687 (broken link) at FamilySearch - free.[16]
Death
- 1853-1871 - Tazewell County Death Index 1853-1871. Batch B868687 (broken link) at FamilySearch - free.[16]
Vital Record Substitutes
| For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records. |
Tazewell County, Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Tazewell County Public Library
310 East Main Street
PO Box 929
Tazewell, VA 24651
Phone: (276) 988-2541
Fax: (276) 988-5980
Family History Centers
Tazewell County, Virginia Genealogy Websites
- Tazewell County,Virginia USGENWEB
- RootsWeb Mailing List: SW_VA-L (Topic: Southwest Virginia)
- Cyndi's List
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tazewell County, Virginia. Page 721 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia Contributors, "Henry Tazewell," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Henry_Tazewell, accessed 13 January 2012.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
- ↑ Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 206. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
- ↑ The Virginia State Line: Organizational Structure of the Virginia State Line, Ranger95.com, accessed 11 June 2012.
- ↑ Jack L. Dickinson, 8th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 25.
- ↑ William C. Pendleton, History of Tazewell County and Southwest Virginia, 1748-1920 (Richmond, Va.: W.C. Hill Printing Company, 1920), 629-630. Digital version at Google Books.
- ↑ Jack L. Dickinson, 16th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 60.
- ↑ J.L. Scott, 23rd Battalion Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 79.
- ↑ Scott C. Cole, 34th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 94.
- ↑ J.L. Scott, 36th and 37th Battalions Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 24.
- ↑ J.L. Scott, 45th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 58.
- ↑ John C. Chapla, 50th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 129.
- ↑ James A. Davis, 51st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1984). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 9.
- ↑ 16.0 16.1 16.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 3 May 2013, at 19:53.
- This page has been accessed 6,668 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More





