Teddesley Hay, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Teddesley Hay, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Teddesley Hay, Staffordshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Cuttlestone
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Penkridge PLU
Registration District Penkridge
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Teddesley Hay is an extra-parochial place. Search surrounding parishes for records and information. In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Teddesley Hay like this:

TEDDESLEY-HAY, an extra-parochial tract in Penkridge district, Stafford; 2 miles ENE of Penkridge. Acres, 2,430. Real property, £4,224. Pop., 117. Houses, 20. T. Hall is the seat of Lord Atherton.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474612.

Poor Law Unions

Penkridge Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/TeddesleyHay/index.html

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:26.
  • This page has been accessed 487 times.