Teigh, RutlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png RutlandGotoarrow.pngRutland Parishes

Guide to Teigh, Rutland family history and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Teigh, Rutland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Alstoe
County Rutland
Poor Law Union Oakham PLU
Registration District Oakham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1572
Bishop's Transcripts: 1707
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rutland
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Rutland Record Office


Contents

Parish History

TEIGH (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Oakham, hundred of Alstoe, county of Rutland, 5 miles (N.) from Oakham. [1]

The Victoria County History of Teigh (1935) is available. It includes a history of the manor, church, advowson, and charities.[2]

TEIGH, a parish in Oakham district, Rutland; 1½ mile NNE of Ashwell r. station, and 4¾ N by E of Oakham.[3]

'Additional information:

Teigh Holy Trinity is an Ancient parish; the church almost unaltered since a 1782 rebuild, that features pews that face one another rather than the altar.
The writer Arthur Mee proposed Teigh as one of the few Thankful Villages which lost no men in World War I.
Richard Folville, a member of the gang of robbers led by his older brother Eustace was rector here from 1321. In 1340 41 he was besieged in the church and then summarily executed outside.
Anthony Jenkinson, main trader of the Muscovy Company was buried here in 1611. He had travelled as far as Bukhara when trying to reach Cathay overland from Moscow, and established overland trade routes through Russia to Persia.


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Teigh, Rutland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
TEIGH PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1572-1837

IGI 1707-1812 1572-1837
PALL
1789-1837

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Diocese of Peterborough : Teigh Bap 1572 - 1985 Marr 1572 - 1981 (Banns to 1995) Bur 1572 - 1984

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474578.

Poor Law Unions

Oakham Poor Law Union, Rutland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Rutland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848).Adapted. Date accessed: 05 December 2013.
  2. A History of the County of Rutland, Volume 2 (1935). A History of the County of Rutland. Adapted. Date accessed: 05 December 2013.
  3. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 05 December 2013.
  4. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Rutland, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:35.
  • This page has been accessed 971 times.