Telemark County, NorwayEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki


Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngTelemark County


Guide to Telemark County, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Telemark (help·info) is a county in Norway, bordering Vestfold, Buskerud, Hordaland, Rogaland and Aust-Agder. Until 1919 the county was known as Bratsberg amt. The county is located in southeastern Norway, extending from Hardangervidda to the Skagerrak coast. The coastline extends from Langesundsfjorden to Gjernestangen at the border to Aust-Agder. Telemark has a very broken and heterogeneous landscape, including many hills and valleys.


Contents

Family History Resources

Government Offices and Sites

Cities, Parishes, Clerical Districts in Telemark County

AustbygdiTinnAtråMælDalMøsstrandRaulandGrungedalVinjeNeslandNeslandMoEidsborgEidsborgØyfjellHøydalsmoLårdalÅmotsdalFlatdalHjartdalTuddalSaulandHovinGransheradLisleherad (Lilleherred)Heddal (Hitterdal)NotoddenSkafsåBrunkebergSeljordBøSauherad (Saude)NesVeumFyresdalMolandKviteseid (Hvidesøe)VrådalNissedalTreungenTørdal (Tørrisdal)Ytre FlåbygdLundeDrangedalHolla (Hollen)HelgenGjerpenMælumKilebygdaSolumPorsgrunnSiljan (Slemdal)SkienSkienPorsgrunnEidangerBrevikBambleStathelleLangesundSannidal (Sannikedal)SkåtøyKragerøTelemark Parishes 2x2.jpg



Map

Telemark County.jpg

Cemeteries

Censuses

Church Records

Photos of churches in Telemark

Farm Books

Land Records

1886 and 1838 land registers are found at The Norwegian Historical Data Centre. These are Excel files, which can be downloaded. The give the name of the farm, the farm owner, and the amount of tax. Both farms and sub-farms are included.

Military Records 

Passenger Lists

Probate Records

Digitised probate records for Telemark county

Probate Jurisdictions

Telemark.jpg
Return to Norway Page


Taxation


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 December 2014, at 21:10.
  • This page has been accessed 7,464 times.