Telfair County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Telfair County, Georgia)

United States go to Georgia go to Telfair County

Guide to Telfair County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Telfair County, Georgia
Map of Georgia highlighting Telfair County
Location in the state of Georgia
Founded December 10, 1807
County Seat McRae
Address Telfair County Courthouse]
713 Telfair Avenue
McRae, GA 31055
Phone: 229.868.6525 
Telfair County Website


County Courthouse

Telfair County Courthouse
713 Telfair Avenue
McRae, GA 31055
Phone: 229.868.6525 

Probate Judge has marriage and probate records; Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records; County Health Department has birth and death records[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
19 E. Oak Street, Suite C
McRae, GA 31055
Telephone: (229) 868-6525
Fax: (229) 868-7956

Probate Court of Telfair County
19 E. Oak Street, Suite A
McRae, GA 31055
Telephone: 229-868-6038
Fax: 229-868-7620

Beginning Dates for Telfair County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate


Parent County

1807--Telfair County was created 10 December 1807 from Wilkinson County. County seat: McRae [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1934 The courthouse at McRae burned 10 February 1934, but a fire-proof record vault prevented any damage to country records.[3]


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Ben Hill County  • Coffee County  • Dodge County  • Jeff Davis County  • Wheeler County  • Wilcox County

Telfair CountyWilcox CountyDodge CountyBen Hill CountyCoffee CountyJeff Davis CountyWheeler CountyMontgomery CountyToombs CountyTattnall CountyCandler CountyEmanuel CountyJohnson CountyTreutlen CountyLaurens CountyBleckley CountyTwiggs CountyHouston CountyPulaski CountyAppling CountyBacon CountyPierce CountyWare CountyCoffee CountyBen Hill CountyIrwin CountyBerrien CountyTift CountyTurner CountyGATelfair.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records


Clark Cemetery, Jacksonville BillionGraves


Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.



Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Telfair County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.




Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Telfair County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Telfair County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 20th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- 49th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company B
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project

  • Newspaper clippings from the March 30 and April 9, 1961 Albany Herald: of Civil War companies from Dougherty and Baker Counties, Lee County vol unteers, and Terrell County war heroes. 1961. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 249516 item 5
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Telfair County). 1963. Confederate roster, 1862-1864. Salt Lake City, Utah: Genealogical Society of Utah. film 373537



Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Telfair County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Marriage Records

1828 - 1978 Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at — index and images $ 1699 - 1944 Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at— index $

  • 1810-1895 - Telfair County Marriage Index 1810-1895. Batch M713801 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death Records

1919 - 1998 Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at — index $

Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Central Georgia Genealogial Society
Post Office Box 2024
Warner Robins, GA 31099
Central Georgia Genealogical Society

Wiregrass Genealogical Society
45 25th Ave.
Eastman, GA 31023
Wiregrass Genealogical Society

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Telfair County, Georgia. Page 160 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 53. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 September 2015, at 03:18.
  • This page has been accessed 8,511 times.