Teller County, ColoradoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Colorado Gotoarrow.png Teller County

Guide to Teller County Colorado genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Colorado
Online Records


Teller County, Colorado
Map
Map of Colorado highlighting Teller County
Location in the state of Colorado
Map of the U.S. highlighting Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 23, 1899
County Seat Cripple Creek
Courthouse
Address Teller County Courthouse
101 W Bennett Ave
Cripple Creek, CO 80813-0959
Phone: 719.689.2951
Teller County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1899
Clerk District Court has divorce, probate and court records[1]

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1904 [2]*
 1899 [2]*
1902-1908 [2]*

1899
1899
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

County Seat

Cripple Creek [3]

Parent County

Coteller.jpg
  • 23 March 1899: Teller County was created from El Paso County.

Neighboring Counties

Record Loss

Resources

Cemeteries

  • Tombstone Inscriptions of Teller County, Colorado, is a publication completed in 2002 by members of the Pikes Peak Genealogical Society. It includes information on all known burial sites in the county, maps, sexton records where available, and inscriptions. Because so many burials in the Cripple Creek mining district County are unmarked, it also includes known information on miners' deaths, prostitutes' deaths, indexes of extant mortuary books, and more.

Census

For tips on accessing Teller County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Gazetteers

Genealogy

Local History

Local histories are available for Teller County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.

Maps

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Teller County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

Colorado State Archives has put the Teller County Will Records Index for the years 1894-1971 on-line.

Public Records

School Records

Repositories

Archives

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Teller County, Colorado in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments 1936 - 1942
Divorce Index 1880 - 1939
Horseshoers 1897 - 1920
Mine Accidents, Non - fatal 1883 - 1900
Vietnam Deaths 1966, 1968

Teller County Inheritance Tax 1917 - 1936
Teller County Wills 1894 - 1971

Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

Libraries
  • Southern Teller County School/Public Lib Dist
    410 B Street
    Cripple Creek, CO 80813
    Telephone: 719-689-2800
Museums

Cripple Creek District Museum, P.O. Box 1210, Cripple Creek, CO 80813; (719) 689-2634; street address: 510 Bennett Dr., Cripple Creek. Holds early mortuary books, extensive family files, more.

Societies

Taxation

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp Place Search for the county.

Colorado State Archives has put the Teller County Inheritance Tax Records Index for 1917-1936 online.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

Colorado Vital Records Search

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [4]

Marriage
Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [4]

Divorce

Places

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Teller County, Colorado. Page 101 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 94.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:53.
  • This page has been accessed 3,760 times.