Template:Census Online IdahoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

1900-1940

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Idaho 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1940 indexes Link - Link
Link
- - Link Link Link - -
images Link - Link
Link
Link
- - Link Link Link Link Link
1930 indexes Link - - - Link Link Link Link Link Link
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1920 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1910 indexes Link - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1900 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link

1856-1890

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Idaho 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1890[8] indexes - - Book
Link
- - - - - - -
images - - - - - - - - - -
1880 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1870[9] indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
partial 1860[9] indexes Link - - Link Link Link Link Link Link Link
images - Link - UT Link WA Link UT Link WA Link UT Link WA Link UT Link WA Link UT Link WA Link - Link
partial 1856 UT[10] Territorial indexes - - - - - UT
Link
UT
Link
UT
Link
- -
images - - - - - - - - - -
  Family Search Internet Archive Misc.  Heritage Quest Fold3 Ancestry FHL  Ancestry Library  Ancestry Home Archives Family Link
Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) Pay


References

  1. 1.0 1.1 FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
  3. 3.0 3.1 HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
  4. 4.0 4.1 Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
  6. 6.0 6.1 Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
  7. 7.0 7.1 FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
  8. The 1890 federal census for Idaho was destroyed. However, the Idaho State Archives (formerly the Idaho State Historical Society Public Archives and Research Library) is creating a list of 1890 Idaho residents by indexing a variety of records, 1885-1894. This reconstructed list will substitute for the destroyed 1890 federal census.
  9. 9.0 9.1 William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987)[FHL Book 973 X2th], 93 explains that in 1860 residents of what is now northern Idaho, if any, should have been enumerated as part of Spokane County, Washington. Also, a few people living in what is now far southeast Idaho were probably enumerated as part of Cache County (and possibly Box Elder County) in the Utah Territory federal censuses of 1860 and 1870.
  10. The 1856 territorial census of Utah included the former "Malad County" whose boundaries are now partly in Idaho, and the former "Green River County" now part of Wyoming. Caution: this census was padded. Most listings are correct, but some were repeated, and in a few cases deceased people were listed. See Bryan Lee Dilts, 1856 Utah Census Index: An Every-Name Index (Salt Lake City, UT : Index Pub., 1983)[FHL Book 979.2 X22d 1856; Fiche 6331392], xvi-xvii. No circulation to Family History Centers.
  • This page was last modified on 16 July 2014, at 17:53.
  • This page has been accessed 579 times.