Template:Census Online MinnesotaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Contents

1900-1940

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Minnesota 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1940 indexes Link - Link
Link
- - Link Link Link - -
images Link - Link
Link
Link
- - Link Link Link Link Link
1930 indexes Link - - - Link Link Link Link Link Link
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1920 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1910 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1905 State indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link - -
images Link - - - - Link Link Link - -
1900 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link

1870-1895

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Minnesota 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1895 State indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link - -
images Link - - - - Link Link Link - -
partial 1890 indexes - - Link Link - Link Link Link - -
images - - - Link - Link Link Link - -
1885 State indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link - -
images Link - - - - Link Link Link - -
1880 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1875 State indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link - -
images Link - - - - Link Link Link - -
1870[8] indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link

1820-1865

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Minnesota 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1865 State indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link - -
images Link - - - - Link Link Link - -
1860 indexes Link - - Link Link Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1857 Territorial indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link - -
images Link Link - - - Link Link Link - -
1850[9] indexes Link - Link - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link Link Link - Link Link Link - Link
1849 Territorial indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - Tran-
script
- - Link Link Link - -
1840[10] indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link Link - - - IA
Terr
Link
WI
Terr
Link
IA
Terr
Link
WI
Terr
Link
IA
Terr
Link
WI
Terr
Link
- Link
partial 1830[11] indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - - - MI
Terr
Link
MI
Terr
Link
MI
Terr
Link
- Link
1820[12] indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link Tran-
script
Link - MI
Terr
Link
MI
Terr
Link
MI
Terr
Link
- Link
  Family Search Internet Archive Misc.  Heritage Quest Fold3 Ancestry FHL  Ancestry Library  Ancestry Home Archives Family Link
Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) Pay


References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 5.6 5.7 5.8 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
  8. The National Archives copy of the 1870 census was destroyed, another version was reconstructed from duplicates preserved by the state. The Family History Library has copies from both the Minnesota Historical Society (Archives and Manuscripts Collections) and the National Archives. A source citation needed here.
  9. The 1850 federal census of Minnesota Territory also included non-Indians living in present-day eastern North Dakota, and eastern South Dakota.
  10. Minnesota was divided between Wisconsin and Iowa Territories in the 1840 federal census.
  11. According to William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987) [FHL Book 973 X2th], 169, "This population [Ft. Snelling] seems not to be in the 1830 census even for the area east of the Mississippi River in Crawford County [Michigan Territory]. According to Ann S. Lainhart, State Census Records (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1992)[[FHL book 973 X2Lai]], 67, "The 1830 territorial censuses do not seem to include Minnesota."
  12. Ann S. Lainhart claims in State Census Records (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1992)[[FHL book 973 X2Lai]], 67, "The earliest census listing for the area that later became Minnesota are found in the 1820 Michigan territorial census."
  • This page was last modified on 16 July 2014, at 18:12.
  • This page has been accessed 560 times.