Temple, TheEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
London
London Parishes
The Temple
London The Temple family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers (baptisms, christenings, marriages, and burials), civil registration (births, marriages, and deaths), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and website resources.
Contents |
Church records
| | |||||||||||||||||||
| |
|
| |||||||||||||||||
| Earliest | |
|
| ||||||||||||||||
| Indexes | 1629-1853 | FamilySearch | 1628-1800 | BritishOrigins[1] | 1628-1853 | InternetArchive[2] | |||||||||||||
| 1628-1760 | FamilySearch[3] | 1813-1853 | BritishOrigins[4] | ||||||||||||||||
- Squibb, G.D. The Register of the Temple Church, London: Baptisms, 1629-1853; Marriages, 1628-1760. 1979.[5]
Cemetery
Transcripts of early Temple, The tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[6]A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the Temple Church churchyard.[7]
Find A Grave has a page about Temple Church monumental inscriptions.
History
The Temple, is a number of buildings, quadrangles, courts, & c. Which are to be found under their respective names Herrick court, pump court,& c (which see). It is divided into two parts, the inner and middle Temple, which are occupied and governed by two societies. It derives its name from having been anciently residents of the Knights Templars, a society established about the year 1118. The Knights Templars let their residence, in 1324, to the students of the common law, in his possession the Temple has been ever since. It extends from White Friars nearly 2 Essex St, and has two halls, to libraries, a fine church (see Temple Church), very airy gardens on the bank of the Thames, and several spacious quadrangles.
Temple Church, The, is a very ancient church built by the Knights Templars, and recently very handsomely restored by Mr. Smirk. It escaped the fire of London. The clergyman is appointed by the king, by letters patent, without institution and induction, and he is called custos or Master . It is in the city of London, and exempt from all jurisdiction.[8]
Published history:
- Billings, Robert William. Architectural Illustrations and Account of the Temple Church, London. London: Thomas and William Boone, 1838. Digital version at Google Books.
Websites
- The Temple Church, London (official website). Photographs, virtual tour, history, visitor directions.
References
- ↑ 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
- ↑ Register of Burials at the Temple Church, 1628-1853. Henry Sotheran and Co., 1905. Digital versions at Family Relatives ($); Google Books; Internet Archive.
- ↑ IGI Batch Numbers, Batch M151031.
- ↑ 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
- ↑ Stuart A. Raymond, London and Middlesex: A Genealogical Bibliography (Birmingham, UK: Federation of Family History Societies, c1997), Vol. 1:29.
- ↑ Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- ↑ Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- ↑ James Elmes, M.R. I. A., Architect, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Envirions (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digital version: Google Books.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 5 April 2013, at 02:33.
- This page has been accessed 662 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

