Tennessee CensusEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Online Tennessee indexes and images
|Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Tennessee|
|Free||Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)*||Pay|
|Internet Archive||Misc.||Heritage Quest||Fold3||Ancestry FHL||Ancestry Library||Ancestry Home||Archives||Family Link|
|Family Search||Internet Archive||Misc.||Heritage Quest||Fold3||Ancestry FHL||Ancestry Library||Ancestry Home||Archives||Family Link|
|Free||Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)||Pay|
Federal population schedules
|1940 N/A||1900 and Soundex||1850||1810|
|1930||1880 and Soundex||1840|
|1910 and Soundex||1860||1820|
|1940 N/A||1900 T623 and Soundex T1072||1850 M432||1810 M252|
|1930 T626||1880 T9 and Soundex T772||1840 M704|
|1920 T625 and Soundex M1588||1870 M593||1830 M19|
|1910 T624 and Soundex T1276||1860 M653||1820 M33|
Indexes: fiche, film, or book
For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of Tennessee, click here
Federal non-population schedules
Online indexes and images
|Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for Tennessee|
||Free||Free at Some Libraries (usually with library card)||Pay|
|Year||Type||Record Search||Census Bureau||Google Book||Heritage Quest||Ancestry FHL||Ancestry Library||Ancestry Home|
- 1890 Veterans United States Census Office. 11th Census, 1890. Schedules Enumerating Union Veterans and Widows of Union Veterans of the Civil War. National Archives Microfilm Publications, M0123. Washington, DC: National Archives, 1948 (Family History Library films 338254–57). Some Confederate veterans are included.
- 1857 Agricultural. Marshall County, Tennessee Agricultural schedule, 1857. Nashville, Tennessee: State Library and Archives (Family History Library film 977522). This record is arranged by districts within Marshall County and then alphabetically by surname.
Indexes: fiche, film, or book
For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of Tennessee, click here.
State, territorial, and colonial censuses
Tennessee took censuses in the years between the federal censuses. The dates are listed below. State census records may have columns that were different or more unusual than those found on federal censuses. The responses and years of coverage may give additional information on the family.
|Tennessee state, territorial, and colonial census schedules|
|Exact Date||Population Schedules|
|1865, 1869, 1897||County of Shelby: Memphis|
|1891||Exist: enumeration of 21 years and older of male citizens of Tennessee.|
|1833||County of Hardin.|
- 1787-1791 McGhee, Lucy Kate. Partial Census of 1787 to 1791 of Tennessee as Taken from the North Carolina Land Grants. Salt Lake City, Utah: Genealogical Society of Utah, 1990. (Family History Library films 1728882 item 4: parts 1 and 2; 1683130 item 3: part 3).
- 1770-1790 Fulcher, Richard C. 1770–1790 Census of the Cumberland Settlements: Davidson, Sumner and Tennessee Counties (in what is now Tennessee). Baltimore, Maryland: Genealogical Publishing, 1987. (Family History Library book 976.8 X2f.) Also Ancestry.com $.
Existing and lost censuses
For a list of available and missing Tennessee censuses, click here.
Why use a census?
A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.
More about censuses
Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:
The Tennessee State Library and Archives offers three free online census guides:
- Making the Best Use of Tennessee Census Index Books, 1820-1840
- Making the Best Use of Tennessee Census Index Books, 1850-1880
- Making the Best Use of Tennessee Census Index Books, 1880-1930
See the Tennessee Archives and Libraries article for facilities with regional collections which might include census records.
Sources and footnotes
- ↑ FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
- ↑ Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
- ↑ HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
- ↑ Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
- ↑ Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
- ↑ FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 HeritageQuest has slave owner schedule images only.
- ↑ Ann S. Lainhart, State Census Records (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1992), 104.
- ↑ Henry J. Dubester, State Censuses: An Annotated Bibliography of Censuses of Population Taken After the Year 1790 by States and Territories of the United States (Washington, D.C.: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1948), 60.
- ↑ Joe Bledsoe, Memphis, Tennessee Census, 1865, 1869, 1897 (Nashville, Tenn.: Tennessee State Library and Archives, [19--])[FHL Film 375237+].
- ↑ Reed, Sue S. Enumeration of Male Inhabitants of Twenty-one Years of Age and Upward, Citizens of Tennessee, January 1, 1891, as Provided for by an Act of General Assembly of Tennessee, Passed January 15, 1891, and Approved January 22, 1891. Houston, Texas: S.S. Reed, 1989. (FHL Book 976.8 X2r). Each of the eight volumes in the record is individually indexed for the counties listed. All counties not included in this work are on microfilm at the Tennessee State Library and Archives.
- ↑ Albert Brown, The 1833 Census of Males 21 and over, Hardin Co., Tennessee (Bethel Springs, Tennessee: History and Genealogy, 1994). (Family History Library book 976.831 X28b 1833.)
- This page was last modified on 22 August 2012, at 21:10.
- This page has been accessed 26,257 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More