Tenterden, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Tenterden, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tenterden, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tenterden
County Kent
Poor Law Union Tenterden PLU
Registration District Tenterden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1544
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Canterbury
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Tenterden is a Cinque Port town in the Ashford district of Kent; see Tenterden Wikipedia for a history of the town.

Tenterden St Mildred is an Ancient Parish in the town

The Parish Church of St Mildred has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

The church of St Michael Ashford Road Tenterden has been designated as a grade C listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted 'The hundred, town and parish of Tenterden', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 7 (1798), pp. 200-219. Date accessed: 18 November 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Tenterden Methodist Church High Street Tenterden is part of South Kent Methodist circuit

Other places of worship in Tenterden included:

Honey Lane Baptist Church

Presbyterian Church

Providence Chapel Boar’s Isle, ( Bible Christian)


Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was part of Tenterden registration district Tenterden Registration District Ashford Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House

(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Tenterden St Mildred parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1][2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[4]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[5]
Tenterden St Mildred Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1544-1860
1597-1894

FREG
1538-1600, 1754-1911

FS PRs 1780-1901 (banns)
MIDK 1754-1911

Tenterden St Michael and All Angels parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Tenterden St Michael and All Angels Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1864-1911

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Nonconformists

International Genealogical Index

  • Honey Lane Baptist Christenings 1785-1837 Batch (C091701)
  • Presbyterian Christenings 1736-1837 Batch (C068661)
  • Providence Chapel, Boar’s Isle, ( Bible Christian) Christenings 1830-1837 Batch (C068681)
  • Wesleyan Methodist Christenings 1819-1837 Batch (C068671)

Census records

Census returns for Tenterden 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Tenterden Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

TENTERDEN (St. Mildred), a market-town andparish, within the cinque-port liberties, having separate jurisdiction, and forming the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Tenterden, Lower division of ihe lathe of Scray, W. division of Kent, 18 miles (S. E. by S.) from Maidstone, and 53 (S. E. by E.) from London. [6]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  5. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.
  6. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 314-321.Date accessed: 29 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 20:12.
  • This page has been accessed 2,267 times.